[IMPORTANT] Crypto Will (Testament) - Part 2 - Website/WebApp: What about leaving all your assets to someone else? Don't lose your money! Give it to someone trustworthy

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Crypto will

I repost this that I wrote some days ago, because in that period I hade "only" 80 follower and now I'm running for 200 (thanks!). I keep thinking about it and I really think it should be a concern for everyone.
So if you haven't read before, scroll down till CRYPTO WILL and then scroll up again and go on :P

NEW

For who read my first post, and could be interested, I can say I will post something with a graphic draft of what I imagine as soon as possible, so we can discuss better. In the while there's the skeleton:

USER

  • Setting
    TTL: Time To Live (i.e. 7 days) The time you decide to release your will if don't stop request.
    Advices: To stop request, set how many emails, sms, ecc receive
  • Create Will
    Type: Only one successor / Group of successors (multiple request procedure)
    Method: Crypted Online document, Textmessage with instructions, Keystore/password, ...
    Protections: ...

SUCCESSOR

  • Setting
    Follow instructions when user set you as successor
  • Request
    Wait for TTL
    Solve protections setted by user (and you)
    Have will

Hope in your impressions and ideas. Really very appreciated.
Steem on!

[OLD ARTICLE HERE]

CRYPTO WILL

I've been in this crypto adventure since a couple of months only, I'm investing money because I really believe in it, but now that my wallet has reached a certain value, I wondered what to do if something happened to me...
It's not an easy topic to tackle, but I think anyone in my situation should think seriously about it... before to leave so many ghost wallets.

I think many of you could be in my situation: I live with my wife who, while using both internet and computer, is completely ignorant about crypto coins... I have tried to explain something to her sometimes, but I understand that those who are not fully involved as us are bored easily and can not understand their value and concept.
Sure I can leave her some (many) notes, folders, key, signature... and then? what can she do? Kinda nothing...

THE IDEA

I'm a programmer, and I'm thinking about the idea to make a website, based on smart contracts, in which a user can define a successor (wife, son, cat...), certifing him/her with a series of authentication and let anything could help to become owner of wallets.
I know it's really difficult to trust in it (also if blockchain controls) and so I think to exclude that users would leave important things like keystore, passphrase or seeds... but the use could also be something like: "Love, you can find all about my crypto in the yellow box in the wardrobe in bedroom" or maybe you can upload a map that only you and wife knows about, and so on.

RECOVER REQUEST

The mechanism could be that after my death (really hope later than bitcoin death :D ) my wife could go to that website and do the request procedure to recover all I left her. This request would be pending, I would be advised with email, sms, etc and would be waiting for a cancel confirmation for some days (the time that I setted before) to prevent unwanted attempts before death :D
After the expiration of time (silent assent), if I have not canceled the request, I will be considered dead... :( so the procedure could go on, and my wife can have the informations I left her, recovering with the series of authentication we did at the beginning.

BUSINESS WAY

It could be also a business, maybe with a small fee to subscribe and have the possibility to create a crypto will.
But also selling something like a basic pack, a box (with a lock) with a clear crypto manual, with basic knowledges about coins, wallet (and all that can serve), maybe hardware wallet to store coins, or simply some usb keys to store all the owner want to leave.

What do you think? Could be a nice and useful idea? Let me know...
Steem on!

Please resteem if you think it's important for all

Sort:  

I'm not a young 37. I gotta put a plan into action with this stuff.

I run for 41... but fate, we can't know, better to think about

Do not promote in #general

Yes, I understand, sorry again.

Well, you took the time to read and apologize, flag withdrawn.

Yes, just a mistake :(
I'm really looking for impressions and feedback about this post

Intersting and yes. right now I have given my details to my spouse if anything happens to me.

Good, so you trust in her.
But it's not simple to have their full attention if not in real need

Didn't say i trust her but the idea sounds like something I will listen to. :)

Yeah I know :)
Good that you have thought

This topic has crossed my mind several times. I'm glad you wrote about it!

Thank you very much, I hope to have some feedback and then begin to worl on it!
Testeem if you like!

thanks for reminding me to back up and share my passwords with a loved one!

You're welcome, I think it's very important and usefull, not to throw away all our work

Thanks ! Upped and followed back !👍👍👍

You're welcome, thanks

Money matters dear for everybody.

really interesting. This is important to everyone involved in Cryptos. Gotta make sure they are secured when we pass. Good Post, followed and Resteemed from Texas!

Many thanks!
I would really hard on it if it seems a good idea!

That's a wonderful idea! By the way: upvoted and followed back!

Thank you very much. I'm glad that you like idea.
I'll work on.
And give you back

This is a good idea. It's something I think about too. How to protect crypto assets whilst being able to safely leave them to others in case of death. It will be interesting to see how your project develops.

Glad to know!
Hope someone really interested will help me :P

Someone who knows how to program. That rules me out!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $22.97 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.