I put my first ever paycheck completely into Crypto.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hey there Steemit, I'm a long time lurker and a diehard believer in the Blockchain.

My story with Crypto starts off a while back, during the first boom of the Altcoins where DogeCoin and LiteCoin were pretty much the only popular altcoins and Bitcoin reigned supreme with over 80% of the market. Back then, though I was informed -- I was scared and I was poor -- I did have money to put in, but I really didn't have money to lose. So I just stayed back and lurked instead, I also gave mining a shot and mined with my laptop for a few months, I think I made around $100 worth of doge when doge was pretty low but I'm pretty sure I lost the wallet haha.

I then left the Crypto Scene for a while, I was entering my final years of high school and college applications were coming up so I had alot to focus on -- and until a few months ago I was completely oblivious to the crypto scene until one day I saw a post on my wall that read "Ethereum reaches all new high, $30 per coin". I was dumbfounded for a second, Ethereum? Coin? Wait what? Crypto made a comeback after the Mt.Gox Scam and everything else?

I immediately opened another tab on my browser and googled "Ethereum price" -- and sure enough, it really hit $30 with INSANE growth, I looked at the chart and how rapidly the price had jumped, on the same page I saw BTC prices and was taken aback too -- BTC was standing at a strong $1200-$1500. I took a second to process everything -- Crypto had finally made a comeback. And it wasn't just any comeback -- It was a huge, incredibly powerful and world-changing comeback.

Ever since I read that article I've been following crypto non-stop. I've read over whitepapers after whitepapers and looked into a bunch of really cool coins. Initially, when I first came into crypto, I came in for the money. But now, though money is certainly a factor, I'm heads over heels in love with the tech. I honestly truly believe that the Blockchain will revolutionize the world we live in and free us from these artificial constraints imposed my governments and centralized systems.

Image of the Blockchain

The projects were not just "cool" they were literally world-changing,
From Ethereum and it's smart contracts, Golem with it's world supercomputer, Steem with it's amazing decentralized discussion space, Waves with a decentralized exchange, Augur with a beautiful betting system, and a whole more including a lot of promising ICO's like BAT, the blockchain industry, though still small, is looking to disrupt every aspect of the world we live in.

A few weeks ago, I got my first ever paycheck from an internship I'm doing, and without giving it a second though, I put every single cent of my money into Crypto. Was it hard? Well surprisingly not, because by this time, both my mind and my heart was deep in love with Crypto, and I know it'll stay that way.

Sort:  

So, what coins did you get?

what coins I'm holding right now? Not much honestly -- I'm mostly all in on Tether right now -- I'll be watching coins this weekend and get into a few -- namely SIA, NXT, ANS, FCT, STRAT and maybe some GNT/BAT