WhopperCoin: Food Meets Crypto and I'm in Love

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

burger-king-whoppercoin.png

So I'm not going to lie, I love fast food. Yes, I know I'm a fitness junkie and the two don't go together, but I basically work out so I can eat more. (It beats the alternative of just eating without working out...haha). Anyways, when I read that Burger King Russia was launching their own cryptocurrency, I was hooked. Plus, I love a good rewards program. So how does it work?

Basically for every 1 ruble you spend at Burger King Russia, you get 1 WhopperCoin. After 1,700 WhopperCoins you can redeem for a free Whopper. Burger King Russia is classifying this as more of an investment than a loyalty program. WhopperCoins can be bought and traded. The hope is that as cryptocurrency continues to rise in popularity, these coins will increase in value. So far Burger King as only issued 1 billion WhopperCoins. The coins can be bought and traded on the Waves' distributed ledger networks.

Anyways, hopefully they will expand the coin offering to the US soon. If so, I will definitely be eating more Whoppers and my pants will be getting a little bit tighter.

You can learn more about WhopperCoin and read my full post on CoinReviews.io.

giphy-downsized.gif

Sort:  

So basically, Whopper Wednesdays (two for one) would wind up being a net loss then because you would lose the coins you didn't spend on the free Whopper. I'm so confused. ;) And that reminds me, I missed Whopper Wed yesterday! :(

You would still get the coins for the one Whopper you purchased. I guess if you wanted to redeem it on Whopper Wednesday you could get two free Whoppers.

Ah, Whopper smoke and mirrors!

What's really cool about this is that a large company like Burger King is supporting crypto, this is really forward thing of them.

The shift to crypto is no different than any retailer or company issuing gift cards. Essentially, it's their currency which has it's benefits when redeemed.

From a technology standpoint, having all of the transactions available on a public blockchain will be fantastic from an accounting perspective to see if #WhopperCoin is being redeemed at certain Burger King locations, being sold or "traded" as an investment on exchanges, or sitting idle in peoples wallets.

I agree. I love that it's framework is that of a loyalty program, but an investment at the same time. Reminds me of the days when McDonald's had their beanie babies in Happy Meals, and everyone ran out and bought them, traded, them etc. in hopes they would increase in value through the years. Hopefully, WhopperCoin will actually be worth something, unlike the beanie babies.

It would be sweet if the whopperCoin comes to the USA. Heck id be happy with the beanie babies even!

Yes, Whoppercoins will be worth, well... a meal or three!

whopper coin is fro mwaves. If you want to know how to lease your waves look my post

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@superpako/waves-plataform-and-lease-cryptocurrency

@resteem.bot
Resteemed and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

Hold the pickles hold the lettuce special Coins don't upset us all we ask is that they let us mine them our way.....

Crypto never tasted so good!

Can you get fries with a Whoppercoin?

😂😂😂 this should be interesting. Seeing as Americans consume so much fast food I can see it hitting the US and taking off.

haha yes. We Americans love our fast food.

A little bit of topic for this post, I realize that.
Crypto ? fine
Fast food? - It is neither...

It is, actually impossible, to be a fitness junkie and love fast food,(corporate fast food - lots of self made fast food that's very healthy! )
This dish took 10 minutes from picking the cilantro - to on the plate. ( cost of around 40 u.s. cents). 10 minuted from start t finish. -

IMAG0019.JPG

Much faster than going to a take way, waiting for your order, and then eating.
So, not so fast, and not so food.

Why would anyone feed their bodies poisons ?

To each their own , I guess. I like fast food. I like to workout. I understand it's not healthy, but I enjoy it. I don't smoke or engage in any unhealthy activities, so if this is my vice, so be it ;)

But you don't receive Whoppercoin for this meal!

Really cool to see a major company taking on their own cryptocurrency to enable growth and repeat business. Not a fan of BK (more of a Chic Fil-a guy myself) but I think it's a step in the right direction towards mass adaptation of using crypto and being familiar with it.

Thanks for the share!

Ready for the Eat More Coin!

Interesting post. I am just fundamentally opposed to anything these fast "food" companies do. Why can't we get a crypto coin for organic spinach or grass fed beef? 😉

I want a whopper coin so bad!!!

I'm glad they offer a veggy burger.

I seen this news earlier and can't tell if this is a true crypto or not, I thought I read it is on the Waves blockchain but is it listed on any exchange?

From what I read, it will be available for peer-to-peer exchange.

People who would not typically pursue a crypto coin will find themselves using crypto. This could be a way of thrusting people into the crypto currency's

I agree. Good way to introduce people to crypto with no real upfront cost or investment.

That's really cool haha

I just heard a rumor that Omise did a deal with McDonald's. Anybody hear anything?