coinpayments.net Censored in New York... DAFUQ

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

So, I was looking to buy some things using some of the crypto currency I've accumulated.

After chosing what I wanted and proceeded to checkout, I saw that the website accepted cryptocurreny through a website called Coinpayments.net.

This was my first time trying to buy something with crypto, so I went to Coinpayments.net to make an account, and this is what I saw...

What....
That's interesting...
I wonder what the reason is....


So, I proceeded to read about how the State of New York is committed to protecting their consumers, blah blah blah... and then I read something that made me cringe.
Lets see what they said:

"We believe it is reckless and ethically impermissible to extract personal, private information from our users, if it is not necessary for the service they're using. Companies which capture this information expose their users by needlessly storing sensitive data in a central repository, which inevitably becomes a target for hackers and other malicious actors."

Now, if this were legitimate, and New York really was looking out for our well being, I would have no suspicions. But, how many other websites and companies take "personal, private information" from their users, and have not been censored?

cough cough facebook

Oh, I guess its alright for a select few to do it but not everyone... yeah that makes sense.

I also did some research to see if this coinpayments.net thing was legit or actually a sketchy website, and from what I've read, they are an endeared, and reputable site.

SO WHAT'S THE ISSUE?

I'm no expert, but things just don't add up.

What do you all think about this? I'd like to hear some second opinions.

Guess I'm going to have to use USD to buy my stuff now...

THANKS FOR READING
Stay Awesome
-Zey

Sort:  

If you've got money.... sue them.

Sue New York for unlawful censorship.

If I had that kind of money I would look into it, but I think it would be more trouble than it's worth,

well, ask around the internet and see if there is anyone willing to sue? Cryptocurrency shouldn't be banned.