Go Easy On The "n00bs" Because We Need Them (And That Was You At One Point)

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago


With a ton of new people rushing into the world of cryptocurrency I have noticed an increasingly negative attitude towards newcomers and their questions. It seems that many people feel special because they were here first, and they have little patience for helping others learn to navigate the crypto space.

Sure, it is common to get the same questions, and these questions can often be found with a quick google search, but in a realm filled with so many different perspectives and so much information, it is hard to discern the truth. After all, we can't even agree on what "the real bitcoin" is.

With such a confusing landscape, people are uncomfortable relying on a myriad of opposing google results and instead turn to people they trust for advice. So if someone reaches out to you or your organization for help, that means they trust and respect you, so do you really want to respond by disrespecting them? While you have no obligation to do anything for anyone, even give them respect, it would serve everyone best if we gave newcomers a good impression.

I think this is especially important for crypto-anarchists because we have a unique opportunity that anarchists rarely have, we are one of the driving forces behind a technology that will change the world, so we are in a position for people to listen to us and actually consider our opinions. The anarchists are no longer the fools setting dumpsters on fire in the middle of the street, we are now a group to be taken seriously, because we are taking the bankers jobs and we are among the few who understand how to use a confusing new technology.

This could be very easily thrown away if we do not welcome people with open arms and compassion. This is not an opportunity to squander for the sake of ego.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Please upvote, follow and resteem if you enjoyed my article and I will return the favor in the comments!

John Vibes is an author and researcher who organizes a number of large events including the Free Your Mind Conference. He also has a publishing company where he offers a censorship free platform for both fiction and non-fiction writers. John is currently battling cancer , and will be working to help others through his experience, if you wish to contribute to his treatments consider subscribing to his podcast to support at https://www.patreon.com/johnvibes

Sort:  

Very good thought. I noticed people ignoring me when I was new to crypto space. So I read articles and saw YouTube videos. Took time but happy I learnt something's.
Remembering my hardship I mentor many people trading in crypto. I just make them take the last decision of buying and selling because I am no insurance Fir the money they invest.

makes me more excited. my steemian greetings from indonesia, i just new here please guidance from you all of you. thank you.

a good post kawan .. if there is a friend time visit my blog once my friend yes

totally true friend .. success .. greetings

I Really Like Your Post And Visit My Post @foridulislam Please Like My Post Up Vote....
Thanks You And Follow Me

Thank you. Upvoted and resteemed.

good posts help each other.

Well said, @johnvibes. What a great reminder to engage in servant leadership, show compassion, and be grateful for the newcomers who lift us up!

I personally need to find a better approach with statest. I find myself being mad at them for their defense of the most evil parasite of all time, the state. I need to remind myself that I too had defended my own subjegation & called for my fellow mans also. It's so easy to take a hostile or condesending tone when being confronted by such hostile & dangerous dillusions.

your post is very useful for beginners like me, thank you for sharing information, I wait for your next posting .. I will follow, resteem and vote your post ..
warm regards @ lidiasteem

This is on point. Although I'm very blessed to meet whales that are willing to help minnows. I hope other whales will do the same. Upvoted, resteemed and followed.

God bless you

Yeah, it's a bear for some of us to take in. Read the other day how a "stop" can start an order and I'm like, "Really?! How frigging intutive..." lol. It's tough to ask successful friends for "free advice" on the scale of learning crypto; not only do I figured they are already getting inundated, but they've paid their dues and I ain't one to ask for a free lunch.

You are right about being in both the spotlight and the hotseat. Historic opportunities usually present ponderous responsibilities. I will say that SteemIt is much better than other places I've been. Learned more about crypto here in a week than... ever. Helluva lot to learn and a bit mysterious still, but getting better and fascinating as all hell, in part thanks to, as you promote here, decent role models.

#Onward