Bitcoin meets... Art?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Bitcoin has existed primarily in the digital world, as it should.

But, what might it look like if it were brought into the physical world?

What might the physical representation of it's data look like?

We have all seen the coins, and they are quite pretty in their own right:

However, someone else had an interesting idea of how to provide a nice visual as well.

Below is an artist's expression of what bank notes could look like if they also showed the data represented by each block on a blockchain.

All the while showcasing his own artistic flair:

Matthias Dorfelt is the Los Angeles based artist behind the creations. He had this to say regarding his motivations behind the project:

"In some ways, the project is a loose data visualization, but I mainly wanted to make the bills be interesting on their own as artworks.

Each one of the 64 bills showcased above represents a single block on a blockchain ledger. The colors vary depending on the volume of transactions.

For example, a less colorful bill would represent a lesser amount of volume, while a more colorful bill would represent a higher volume of transactions. 

In the center of the bill there features a blurry or abstract view of a human being or creature. According to Dorfelt, the vagueness was done on purpose, saying:

"The idea was to create something that reflects all of the supposed privacy and anonymity connotations that Bitcoin has."

Some data is also represented.

On the left hand side of each bill is a series of dots that represent the encoded history of all the transactions. At the bottom of the bill is a white bar with symbols that represent the specific address of each bitcoin.

Then, there is a time-stamp in the bottom right hand corner of the bill which indicates the moment in time when that block of transactions was created.

I am not sure if his collection is for sale, but I imagine it would fetch a pretty penny in this ultra enthusiastic Bitcoin environment.

Stay creative my friends!

Sources:

https://www.nbcnews.com/mach/tech/fanciful-bitcoin-banknotes-show-how-digital-currency-might-look-real-ncna777176

Image Sources:

http://pilotaz.blogspot.com/2015/10/bitcoin-physical-coin.html

https://www.nbcnews.com/mach/tech/fanciful-bitcoin-banknotes-show-how-digital-currency-might-look-real-ncna777176

Follow me: @jrcornel

Sort:  

That is a very abstract way of thinking of bitcoin....I like how they don't have face in the middle, but instead a blurry image of...

maybe the creator of the blockchain.

Haha yea the artist said that was done intentionally to show the anonymity of bitcoin.

Hii @jrcornel i saw you post and i enjoyed reading it, could you please have a look on my daily analysis for Bitcoin and give me your opinion. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@ohamdache/mid-day-update-for-the-price-of-the-bitcoin-28-06-2017

Thanks for the information. Artists uses their talents to express exciting veiw point. Very interesting

It will , the art work is very nice.

I like Dorfelt's version better as opposed to this green monster:
download-2.jpg

It certainly is prettier isn't it? :)

Wow very interesting, those paintings, So sexy says Leonardo Da Vinci.
leonardo-da-vinci---a-divine-mind.jpg

Haha that is pretty funny!

Very interesting concept and they're very pretty artworks, but I'm not sure I understand what the practical value would be? What am I missing?

I don't think there is any. It was more just an art piece than anything else. An art piece that shows some of the data in a block on a blockchain. Creative artwork with no practical uses other than sitting on one's wall :)

really cool. Lots of information in there, and quite artsy too.

Nice read! Thanks

I love the artwork.

So if you lose the piece of paper you lose your piece of the block chain?

Yes. Although these are not meant to be practical. They are simply artworks. :)

Its awesome, I could add some more crypto notes in my asset.

Artists cashing the money.

Those are really cool, I like the idea of keeping them blurry to show the significance of privacy. Or maybe they are all just photos of bigfoot! Context...

I think Bigfoot is blurry; that's the problem. It's not the photographer's fault. Bigfoot is blurry and that's extra scary to me. There's a large, out-of-focus monster roaming the countryside. "Run, he's fuzzy, get out of here."
— Mitch Hedberg

Haha that is great! A monster that is unknown is much scary than the one we know ;)

Soooooo I am absolutely obsessed with this idea, I'm an art collector myself and its ALWAYS interesting to see what ideas people come up with to exhibit and show off new works, and even more so HOW they came up with these ideas. it would be great to have these as extra large prints, it would make more of an impression i think.

Im sure one day we'll have an exhibit of every transaction on each blockchain lumped into one large photo

Now that would be interesting. Although, I'm not sure it would all fit ;)

It's great post. I think we are not using bitcoin Steemit. We are using sbd. And we hope it raises over the bit coin. Although it will take time still we want to bring our idea to reality.

Cool artwork!

Awesome I just recently switched from money themed art to stencil art but this makes me want to go back. lol

Interesting design for BTC...

Thanks for sharing!

What we cannot do with Bitcoin?

  • Scratch a lottery ticket

Looks like "normal" money. I'm missing a real hologram or something else in a modern, futuristic way, like blinking digits with the current worth of the banknote.

Haha yes. This was more artistic than practical. A collector's item as opposed to an actual banknote. :)

thanks for sharing this

Looks pretty cool :P

W👀W! how cool is that! awesome!
followed + upvoted + resteemed

This is awesome. Its a great one indeed 😊.

Very good posting. By name I think you are roman:p

My name or the artists name?

Cornel is romanian name

You are right, my name does have Roman origins. Very astute observation :)

Useful information for all steemit community.
I like nice art from you on post.
Good job @jrcornel ^^

Pretty cool, i was thinking after my series of neural pathways, to create a serie of blockchain, because i call my art "connectivisme" ( i have my own style) and blockchain is also to do with connection ;) i have whole philosophy behind my art and i come out with it for the first time on "steem it"

Very cool art..

lol... I just posted a Blog called "Steemit Coins"...
Check it out if you get some free time...
@pocketechange

Those notes are pretty!

Come to Worldwide bittrex pump group.
The power of the Bittrex forces is strong.
You can get good results.
I have great news tomorrow.
This place is real.

https://t.me/BittrexPumpNotifier
https://t.me/BittrexPumpNotifier

photo_2017-06-27_00-25-24.jpg

It's strange that in postmodernism, artist like that want to return to physical art. So interesting. There was the relational art that wanted to "destroy" physical art. And now here we are, immaterial became material. Great ;)

And the circle continues :)

Your information is very good

Very interesting post! Artists have a great tool to approach the cryptocurrency'world: their imagination ^_^

Stay creative my friends!

we are trying))

This is great @jrcornel! I really love the idea of creating an info-graphic / visualization of the blockchain through art... maybe this could snowball into a sculptural project series after steem park ;)

Very interesting, thanks for the post

great post, thanks! love to data art based on cryptocurrency, and from local LA artists to boot:)

This is purely amazing, and incredibly interesting. It's amazing how people can make art out of so many different things!

You can check out @ENAZWAHSDARB for the best Entrepreneurial content! If you appreciate what you see, you can leave a follow! :)

Cool artwork and very creative.

Bitcoin art code!!