Sort:  

me too I refuse to verify on Bittrex. They closed my withdrawals without any warning, from one day to the next. I can't aceppt that. I'll keep insisting they reinstate the 0.025 BTC limit for at least 7 days, as they should have given me some notice before enacting such a change.

Ya, I was told that they were limiting to the 0.025, and then the next day it popped up and said I couldn't withdraw anything at all.

I love how people will create something so stupid as crytokittes but not a safe, easy, and RELIABLE way to exchange altcoins

That's because crypto kitties don't have the government breathing down their necks.

You can create a Bitshares Wallet and use the decentralized Bitshares exchange. It is easy to send your Steem over there (not Steem Dollars though -- convert those in the internal Steem market first)
and then you can sell your Steem for Bitcoin.

Bitshares will never collect your personal information, as it is decentralized and out of any government's control.

I found bitShares to be a little confusing at first, but really good once I got the hang of it.

I created a wallet at some point for a contest of some kind on Steem, I'll have to locate my keys. I've heard good things about it, I just know the few times I was wanting to just buy up some altcoin, it wasn't on bitshares.

True. Still learning about the whole BTS thing. I guess once you get into it, it can be a great solution for all exchange and transactions.

.

Thank you for sharing your experience. It's scary and it is by far not the only tale of frustration and aggravation we have heard. In the meantime Bitcoin is ihitting upwards of 16,000 today, silver down to 15.80 and steem seems to be holding at 2.00. The volatility is far too much of a firestorm for me. I have what I have and I am just watching, call it numbness. Even if some would call it stupidity, it feels more like preservation of my nervous system. Love your sharing and am rooting for you all the way to experience right and honest transactions.

It's never stupidity to preserve your nervous system. Smart of you to know your limits.

I think Bitshares (decentralized exchange) would be the way to go. I still haven't used it yet and not sure of the basic procedures (strange that I have trouble finding videos for the simple stuff - only the advanced stuff such as futures, shorting, etc).

I'm sure you're aware that authority is freaking out over the issue. Greshams law will begin to set in and drain equity from all national fiat. Then you won't want your dollars / bolivars / pesos, etc anyway. Eventually Steem and other crypto will be the standard with no need for conversion to national fiat. (forwarded to the relevant comments)

I had no idea this was going on. Thanks for the information. I see a comment about bitshares, which was created by @dan, steemit' s creator, I am curious to hear if that works out for you. Also how do you fly without an ID? Or do you just refuse to use it in connection to your finances.

US constitution grants the right to travel domestically without travel papers. There is a form that you can fill out to get through security without ID. It's pretty rare, they give you a hard time, and it typically takes a few hours to get through security that way, but it can be done.

I have not done this myself, but I've seen some newspaper articles about it. YMMV

These days the government can and will abuse you if you draw their attention. Especially if you are challenging them. An individual would be unlikely to get away with that even if they are constitutionally granted the right to do so. However if thousands did it at the same time it would have an impact on policy.

Having often been in personal contact with @blocktrades, and always receiving great, personalized service, I gotta lean the other way here and say there is more to the story. I doubt @blocktrades is blowing smoke. The fees are high, though.

waiting 2 days and counting to transfer steem & sbd from poloniex to steemit.. I think dealing with the neighborhood loan-shark is probably better than Poloniex.

3 days so far waiting for mine to deposit to my @poloniex account and still nothing. There goes over $200...

why do you have to send using BTC? Without even mentioning fees.. it is sooo SLOW.

If you send using LTC (litecoin) the fees are minuscule to what blocktrades has to charge for BTC. I send my STEEM to LTC and then to my exchange with very little fee.

While you might think that blocktrades is BSing about the fees I've seen others complaining about the high fees elsewhere so I have no doubt he's not BSing and I have seen him suggest using LTC.

Bitcoin is the only one that does me any good, as it's the only one I can pull out at an ATM in every major city on the planet. As much as I love the idea of using non-governmental currencies, unfortunately they're useless almost everywhere. I can buy my flights with BTC, and most big cities have one or two restaurants that will accept it, but the other cryptos are just stocks for investing, and not actual usable currencies.