You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am not worried about BTC and ultimately Steem

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)

Why are you flagged by @cheetah? Weird.

To answer your question, I upvote things that make me smile. It could be silly, whimsical, fun or simply because they are a friend, and their content in that context makes sense to me. Rarely, do I upvote because it’s stirling content. I actually read a lot of stuff off this block chain for education and research. This is a social media site and a playground to me. I give my attention and place value to it on that understanding. But I think I can safely claim I’m quite engaged compared to many.

You need to take my comment with a grain of salt and not take it literally. I’m discussing a general mind set based on my personal observation. You’re entitled to your opinion. :)

Sometimes I wonder if I am judging too harshly about the engagement/talented here. I believe there are competitions to incentivize people to comment on posts that curied? That kinda tells the story. We need to pay people to appear engaged in what a few have decided is exceptional content.

Without view counts, I can only rely on places like YouTube to get a true picture of popular steemians others put on a pedestal. I recently showed my husband an artist who is considered a ‘star’ on this platform. He gave me a funny look and said, “There are many children who play with toys on YouTube who are considerably more popular...That’s the best Steemit has?”

So I finally made myself click on the vid to see for myself. It wasn’t my thing.

I find the lack of sincerity life-draining.

Anyway, you say the right things, you will do well here! Good luck!