Harder to Build than to Speculate

in #cryptocurrency4 years ago

It's harder to build something useful than to speculate on tokens. Speculation often involves being smarter than the next guy. Building means you have to go up against the laws of physics, nature, human motivational psychology, economics, technology, philosophy, and more.

This creates an existential problem: Why do smart people build when they can instead extract value via speculation (using, ironically, things other people built)?

One answer is moral belief: They think what they are building matters to the world more than money.

If they are right, and what they are building helps enough people, the money should eventually come, but it's a long (and often expensive) game.

Shout out to the builders who don't care about the risk or game theory and build anyway because of what they believe.


I realized lately I've been posting more on Facebook, Twitter, and even Voice than here. I'm going to change that by cross posting a bit, just to get writing on Hive again. Normally I use my @lukes.random account for random social media posts, but meh. Who cares. This is my blog, so this is where I'll post whatever.

Sort:  

I would argue you can switch places of the two words “Build” and “Speculate” and still come up with accurate statement. In essence both are needed. Those who speculate motivate building, those who build motivate speculating.

Speculating successfully and consistently is as difficult as building, perhaps even more.

Maybe I've just connected with too many speculators who can nail things pretty consistently. They have more money to put at risk, but even with a high fail rate, they do very well. Maybe it's just the DeFi craziness going on right now, but the same could have been said for the 2017 ICO craze. I'm not saying it's easy, I'm saying the really, really smart people I know can pull it off. They are the few who could also build something successfully as well, I think. Anyone can build. Building something successful which is profitable and sticks around for ten years or more... that's rare.

I realized lately I've been posting more on Facebook, Twitter, and even Voice than here. I'm going to change that by cross posting a bit, just to get writing on Hive again.

thx highly appreciated.

I realized lately I've been posting more on Facebook, Twitter, and even Voice than here. I'm going to change that by cross posting a bit, just to get writing on Hive again.

thx highly appreciated.

I realized lately I've been posting more on Facebook, Twitter, and even Voice than here. I'm going to change that by cross posting a bit, just to get writing on Hive again.

thx highly appreciated.