Who, What, When, Why, How, Where: Me Edition

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Who am I?

![]()

I am a 31 year old service industry professional going through a ⅓ -life crisis (that’s a thing, right?). Often living in my own head, ideas come easy...it is the execution that is tough. Writing has always been something I’ve enjoyed but lately it has become an incredible outlet. Taking the constant stream of randomness out of my head and putting it on paper is insanely therapeutic. Recently, that passion has collided with blockchain technology and the various tangents that topic has lead me down. Through that, I discovered Steem and fell in love.


What am I doing here?

Flexible job, happily married, currently no kids...there isn’t going to be a better time for me to head down a new path. I’m here to document that journey and bring others along for the ride. Not only looking to pursue activities and topics that I am passionate about…but also, to break my bad habits and replace them with good ones. I want to keep pushing, in order to better position myself for the future ahead. I'm here to exit my comfort zone, getting as far out in front of this wave as I possibly can. 


When will I do this?

Right now. No more waiting. No more excuses.

Why am I doing this?

Work/Life balance is overrated. Work should be an enjoyable part of life, not something separate and evil. I also know that my inner struggles are not unique, nor are they the most challenging. I aim to create a medium where people can express their struggles, as well as how they overcame them. Every success story is filled with poor decisions made along the way. There are often questions and struggles we find ourselves up against but these are easily conquered when we have the help of others. As someone that is very idea driven, there is nothing I value more than constructive feedback or advice. 


How will I do this?

By building a community of like-minded people who are experiencing similar challenges. Over time, I don’t want my story being the only one heard. I would love to build a community of people who are trying to make major changes in their lives. Establishing an environment where we can all learn from each other’s experiences and really help one another get to that next level fulfillment. Serving as examples for one another, we create a platform where we can teach each other, allowing our overall chances for success to skyrocket.

Where do I see this going?

Down a path that will really allow me to see what my true potential is. Ideas are the easy part, it is time to begin executing. My blog will serve as a trail of breadcrumbs, leaving me no excuses for not following through on my ideas. I refuse to allow myself to have any way out.


My blog, The Hard Fork, will take a look at the dramatic shift in my personal and professional path. Inspired by the perfect storm of: a passion for writing, blockchain technology (Steem), an inner belief that I can achieve much more, and a couple of fantastic ideas; I want to broadcast my challenges and struggles along the way. There are many others out there that have been through the same, or worse, that I would love to learn from. I also want to encourage others who are considering similar changes. 


What type of posts you can expect to see from me...

  • My Forking Education:
    • Showcasing the things I’ve learned that are inspiring me to stay on my path 
    • Quick Breakdowns/Easy Reads
    • Written so that those with no prior knowledge of a given topic can comprehend and learn 
  • Forking Updates: 
    • Describing the roadblocks, obstacles, and breakthroughs I’ve encountered 
  • Forking Inspirations: 
    • Profiling examples of others that provide great learning experiences 
      • Other Steemians  
      • Celebrities  
      • Obscure entities, great examples

This part is completely foreign and new to me...

If you have time, please follow me on Twitter and join the Facebook community for The Hard Fork. Act now and you'll be the first to do either!

@The_Hard_Fork

fb.me/TheHardForkCommunity


![]()

Sort:  

Followed you over from the badcrypto group. Welcome to Steemit!

We might need to start the Bad Crypto Mastermind movement on to SteemIt! Really excited to see others on here!

Congratulations @marcmcd32! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice to come across a fellow learn-a-holic!

taking the constant stream of randomness out of my head and putting it on paper is insanely therapeutic

not only is it therapeutic but by writing what you know you're sharing your knowledge with the steem it world :)

The irony of it all is that I was a horrible student (only because I wasn't ever there)...but once I find something I enjoy learning about, I really dig in. Time to figure out a better way to put that quality to use! Thanks for reading!

Greetings from the mastermind group. New here too, still workshopping some pieces to post as it's been a long time since I wrote anything longer than a tweet but looking forward to growing with the community!

Glad to see another Mastermind on SteemIt! I’ll make sure to follow!

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and what does hard fork mean?

Thanks for the read Oatmeal Joey! I’m using the term “Hard Fork” as a bit of a play on words. Hard Fork is a cryptocurrency term that fit my concept really well...making a big, life changing decision. In crypto, it refers to splitting the path of a blockchain...but we will get in to that later!

Right. Ok. I knew about these 2 definitions but was not sure which of two definitions you were focused on or if you had a third definition or not. But I do get it. And I have had some hard forks, some forks in the roads, in my life as well.

Welcome to steemit. Starting a new path is always great but sometimes scary. But life is full of possible paths to take. I'm looking forward to read your posts about your way.

I appreciate you taking the time to read! We certainly come across many opportunities in life, some much more substantial and baring larger implications than others. I am a big believer that blockchain tech is opening doors more impactful than anything we've seen in our lifetime. We all need to figure out how we can use it to our advantage!