EPISODE 2 – First Contact

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

My first contact with cryptocurrencies was somewhere in 2012 when I read an article about Bitcoin on the Verge one evening. It was not like seeing the light on my way to Damascus, but it was interesting enough to leave a mark on my long term memory.

A year and a half later my family was going through a very tumultuous financial situation and – well, there is no other easy way to say it I am afraid – I needed what one would call a get-rich-quick-scheme that was not illegal or physically dangerous. That is when the back of my memory knocked back and said: «Knock-knock! Hallo! Do you remember me? I am that article you read a few months ago about that sort of "magic internet money"... Could that maybe be something?».

Desperation and contingency – two best buddies indeed – did the rest and before I knew it I found myself reading an article on Ars Technica (by then I did not read The Verge so much anymore as I got a little exhausted and frankly even a little fed up with their unconditional submission to a certain computer/phone/tablet brand from Cupertino, CA).

Well from reading the article to signing up onto bitcointalk.org the step was instantaneous. Nevertheless the actual one thing that represented the opening of the Crypto-Pandora's Box for me was this youtube video.

That was the moment I knew it was not just a get-quick-rich-scheme, no, oh no, I knew it was the future marching in, and on, and forward. It was like the email, but with limited supply. It was like torrent, but then with monetary value... It was like... It was like endless possibilities that stil today do not cease to astonish me. It was.

And I did not talk with anyone about it yet. Oh no, just not yet...

PREVIOUS EPISODE | NEXT EPISODE

"Magic Internet Money" by unknown author