GPU mining from computer

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Now Tell me if I'm wrong but Coin Mining is what keeps the blockchain operating and keeps what we are all here for going right?
Now before anyone says I know its not profitable (especially with my Rig, Running 1x 1070 Nvidia Asus GTX Gpu.)
But I feel like Im doing my part helping the Blockchain.

What I have chosen to mine (for now) is DigiByte DGB. Currently Ranked 54 on Coinmarketcap.com as I write this
Screenshot (6).png

Now why DigiByte?
First its easy to mine with 1 gpu, I have also underclocked the Gpu so I do not cause any damage to the Card.
Second is the fact I think this coin has a bright future, with its ease to mine and fast transactions this coin could hit $1usd if it gets to the same market cap as a coin like Tron TRX for example.

how to mine? first you need to decide what coin you want to mine? whether it can be done using your Rig?
now seeing as I have shown Digibyte so far in this post I will show you how to mine digibyte as an example.

So I have found the coin I would like to mine.
Next find a miner software that supports the Algorithm used to mine the coin- I have decided on the Skein Algo to mine Digibyte.

The miner I found to use Skein is the tpruvot/ccminer this can be find in the link below.
https://github.com/tpruvot/ccminer/releases

Screenshot (8).png

Once downloaded you need the Extract the Zip folder usually Zip7 which can be downlaoded just by googling if you don't already have.

Now once this is done you need to find a Mining poop which supports the coin you want and Algo you are using.
With this I have chosen Suprnova, which charges 1% mining fee but super easy to set up.
You can find them using this link. https://www.suprnova.cc/
Screenshot (10).png

Once set up and signed up to your mining pool you need to set up your miner at .bat file which is what mines your coins.
bat files can seem daunting at first but are pretty simple to use. here is an example of my bat file for Digibyte (DON'T USE THIS unless that is if you want to mine for free to me)
Screenshot (13).png

These are ultra simple to make, just open a new text folder put all the necessary stuff in and click "save as" and where it says .txt change that to .bat and you now have a bat file.

This is what it should look like if you done it right.
![Screenshot (4).png]
(https://steemitimages.com/DQmXw9jxgy8QMeNnC6KWrF7UUFyfiuKzfEoT6ButxXXt7SW/Screenshot%20(4).png)

Those YES!'s mean you are now mining. You can track your progress, hashrate and how many coins you have mined from the pool.
Here's what mine looks like.
Screenshot (3).png

This can be used to mine most basic coins. I hope you have found this an interesting read or helpful in some cases. Please upvote, follow and comment below. All comments and votes will be followed by me and all comments upvoted.

Sort:  

thanks for this interesting post, do you know what is the cheapest way to setup a mining rig running linux OS? Will their software even support linux?

There are software for linux yes, It all depends on what you like to mine. Comment with the coin you would like to mine and what GPU you run and Ill so some research for you.

thanks for your post that was very informative.

I think your Post is for a big group of people very helpful!
Thx for making this Website for us!
Upvote when your in my opinion @alokkamboj

Thanks, would love a bigger audience for this so please resteem