Antshares: Everything You Need To Know About The New "Chinese Ethereum"!


If you've been following the rise and fall of different altcoins on coinmarketcap, you will have noticed a cryptocurrency called "Antshares" that jumped over 400% a few weeks ago.

Antshares is China's first ever original public chain project, and is sometimes also nicknamed "China's Ethereum".

So there's been a big hype around this project - and since I have a series on my blog where I introduce new or particularly interesting cryptocurrency projects, this was a perfect match!

Overview

Name: Antshares (NEO)

Market cap: $393,276,500 (Top 14)

Current price: around $7.87

Launched: 2014

Mission Statement: "Smart assets & application platform"

Whitepaper

- Website -


img


What is Antshares and what makes it special ?

Antshares is the first ever public chain project from China. Considering the size of the Chinese market, that fact alone already makes Antshares very interesting.
It combines the power of smart contracts and digital assets, enabling security, trust and transparency through digital certificates.

"AntShares is a decentralized and distributed network protocol based on Blockchain technology. AntShares allows digitalizing real-world assets, enabling registration, depository, transfer, trading, clearing and settlement via a peer-to-peer network. AntShares keeps records of the transfers of digital assets with e-contracts.

"As China's first ever original and open source public chain project, Antshares serves as a smart assets platform. Smart assets are the combination of smart contract of blockchain and digital assets. Antshares allows for a smarter way for assets registration, issuance, and circulation.

Digital assets exist in the form of electronic data and with blockchain technology, digital assets becomes decentralized, trustless, traceable and highly transparent. Antshares underlying technology supports multiple types of digital assets and use digital certificate to enable trust for public chain, namely the assets issued by users via digital certificate are protected by law. On the other hand, for more complicated scenarios, users can use smart contract to enhance and enrich the functions of assets. Besides, users can also create smart contracts with other functions unrelated to assets."




Who created Antshares?

Antshares was founded by a company called ONCHAIN, a Shanghai-based fintech firm that focuses on Blockchain projects.
Onchain CEO Da Hongfei is also the founder of Antshares. After graduating from the South China University of Technology, Da Hongfei made himself a name in the Chinese cryptocurrency scene and eventually became the CEO of Onchain in 2014.

Partners

Antshares has partnered with some big names - for example Alibaba, one of the biggest online commerce companies in the world, and WINGS, the Blockchain Crowdfunding DAO.
Antshares has even partnered with Microsoft, although there are no specific details yet. All we know is that they are working on a legal blockchain project in relation to Microsoft Azure.

img

Antshares founder Da Hongfei, illustrated by Cointelegraph


Why the name "Antshares"?

“Ants have a social structure in which they enjoy equality but shoulder different tasks. Share is both a verb and a noun. I think the name AntShares speaks for itself, that we were actually inspired by these diligent and marvellous creatures and the spirit of the Internet and the theme of our time.”
-Da Hongfei, Antshares founder

Rebranding

In a conference held on June 22, 2017, Antshares actually announced a complete rebranding.
They have introduced the platform’s new name and brand, NEO, which means novelty or newness in Greek. The rebranding will be complete in the 3rd quarter of this year, and the short form for the cryptocurrency will switch from ANS to NEO.


The newly rebranded NEO and the old Antshares logo


Conclusion

Antshares or NEO has shown some immense potential. It's often referred to as the "Chinese Ethereum" and is backed by well-known partners like Microsoft or Alibaba.
The price has skyrocketed 400% in one week, reaching the all time high of around $11, and then returned to the current price level of about $7-8 .
In my personal opinion, I think we haven't seen the last of Antshares yet, and there we will probably hear more from this project in the future.


Have you invested in Antshares? What's your opinion about this project?




Images: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6



Want to get featured on my blog? Register for Steemit Promo

- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 


© Sirwinchester


Sort:  

Just to add some information that might help future investors, Antshares/Neo actually consists of two different cryptocurrencies, ANS and ANC (which after rebranding I think will be called Neo and gas respectively). ANS represents shares in the blockchain network while ANC is more similar to what Ether does for Ethereum, making transactions go. The cool thing about ANS is that ANS generates ANC in a type of proof of stake mechanism and allows ANS holders to vote on blockchain decisions and collect fees. Currently you can only get ANC on one Chinese exchange while ANS is a little bit more available, but this is definitely something important to consider and to know in order to understand what sets Antshares/NEO apart from something like Ethereum.

Thanks for clarifying - good to know!

Ethereum + China = Profit
Thanks for the informative post. :)

Great blog! :)

Thank you! 😬

Very nice post enjoyed reading it ! I wish that i could recognize this coin way before when it was at 0.5$ :D

Yes I know, the profit would have been insane. But still, I'm sure you'll get an opportunity to invest again!

Long ANS, er NEO!

I always love reading your posts, i can tell you know a lot about crypto like I do, I bought antshares at 50 cents!!!!

Wow that's incredible! Did you sell at the all time high or are you still holding them?

good question I want to know too!

I bought 4.1 BTC worth in their ICO which was probably somewhere around $2400 at the time. Woke up on a Monday morning with an additional $180K in my crypto balance. Eyes almost popped out of my head. First time I get a bang of that scale in crypto. I converted it to ETH and BTC, but probably should have held it.

What's Antshares' next big catalyst? Are they "launching" something soon? Will others be building on top of ANS?

Interesting. I wonder what impact this could have on Ethereum going forward. Surely there will be a clash in similar target markets...?

Could you make a post explaining onG Social please? I have heard it's kind of a new steemit that rewards you for your content.

hello. antshares sounds great. there seems to be a little pulse in price between 7.50 and 9.50 like a wave with balmy breezes. lol

Yes the price has been fluctuating quite a bit ever since hitting the all-time high 2 weeks ago, so we'll see where it will stabilize.

Great Stuff. I am a proud owner of Antshares and plan to keep it until it surpasses DASH, maybe even longer. This coin is my way to a Million Dollars. Acquiring it as people sell/dump theirs!!!

Looks promising, I'll be keeping an eye on this one :)

I think that the crypto will do great and thus a good hold. Thanks for sharing

😬 that's awesome, thanks for taking your time to create this!

People in china are hardcore investors, theyre going to pump that price up to death and then take all profits and run

... sounds possible. But I do think antshares has some potential.

Great info! Thanks for posting!

You're welcome, I'm glad you enjoyed the post!

Oh, yes, I've invested a small amount in this project, just after they've been renamed to Neo

I think it will be a good investment, but let's see what the future holds.

Thanks for sharing this info with us @sirwinchester.
I'm wondering how Antshares will stack up against ETH, they are both great projects, but I do think that ETH is overvalued ATM since it has no real world application yet.
This makes Antshares a better value buy in my book.
Also, I can't understand why they chose the name NEO. It makes me think of the protagonist in The Matrix.
Although I really like the movies and he's a cool caracter, I dont think it's a suitable name because of the before mentioned connotations :)

I think the chinese market will prefer to use antshares, just because it's local and everything is in their native language. And since we know how big of an influence the chinese market can have, antshares should not be undervalued.

And you're right, I was thinking of matrix too when I first heard the name neo!

Good post, but made me a little sad I can't buy any right now.
It's bound to be a long term winner.
Thanks

Actually you can get them right now, for example at bittrex. But of course it would be better if you'd wait a little until the price crashes, and then buy some.

Really? New ETH? I don't think so, but it's always good to buy some :)

Well, at least the new ETH in china - we'll see how this turns out

Im probably going to end up getting a few hundred USD of this. The FOMO is real for me on this lol

Hahaha, yes I personally think antshares has potential!

Their commercial is futuristic! I think antshares will become big. Good job presenting it -- I will probably invest now (:

Yes I think they have quite a lot of potential. I'm glad I could share some insights with you.

See you at the Moon!

thanks for the inf. this is very good to know and the best investment

I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thank you for this info! I was googling "how to buy antshares" last night and the info was a bit fragmented for me. Even the website did not make it clear for me.

My question is, is it ok to get Antshares now? or wait until it is NEO. I am not certain if I am understanding correctly, but I guess Im asking would it be a situation where like with Ethereum Classic versus ETH?

Hmm. I think you should wait a little bit, until the price drops.
But you could also buy now and then sell once the rebranding is done, because the price will probably rise at that point.

Sound advice

Sadly everytime i tried to enter on it i immediatly lost a lot money. Objectively that's a good coin to hold?

I know this is a usual statement that MUST appear at least once, but I like the old logo better 😄

i definitely think antshares is going to be huge

Good blog! :)

Are there any connections with the Communist Party of China? Such connections would be helpful.

@sirwinchester, yep definately an interesting coin, might be wise to buy in now and hodl them.

hodl-le-he-hoooo!!!

NEO to me is a long terms hold. If they partners with wechat, there is no telling where the price of NEO will go.

great article .. thanks

interesting post. I bought a little of this a few weeks ago. I wish I had more of it now.

wow, excited to hear about this. My intuition tells me this will be the most used coin for purchases in less than 2 years. If thats the case the value of it will probably go up quite a bit because of demand. The question is when.....

Excellent article and explanation of Antshares. Since they are the only cryptocurrency that meets the Chinese government's specification to be officially accepted, they should gain broad use. The Chinese don't like holding local currency. This is why there is so much real estate investing for the Chinese in places like Vancouver and Toronto. They have been a major contributor to the massive real estate bubble in Canada.

Once ANS goes mainstream, it's going to be a awesome ride. I've already experienced what the future will bring. My $1018 position in ANS hit $43K two weeks ago. Like all cryptos it has pulled bad a lot, but in a few years...

Nice post, I waited and yes did pick up a little quota over the weekend around $7. I think Antshares will be huge. Sit and wait 24 months and keep topping them up when they dip is my plan. I only have 35 so far.. Exciting project

Excellent, I was wondering WTF are Antshares seeing solid trading volume and a sweet volatility for trading, but was a bit lazy to do the reasearch myself. I've checked your blog and seen some solid posting there, +1 follower Sir.

thanks for the amazing information , is it mine-able though ??

as a heads up if you plan to transfer ans to the webwallet. transfer fee had been 0.35 ans from bittrex and the wallet just shows whole numbers. so i just received 17 neo from 17.54 i transfered :-(

This post is very informative especially for beginners in crytocurrency like me. Thanks @sirwinchester! :)

Thanks for that very informative, keep up the posts. Time to start taking notes.

I thought EOS was the new Chinese Ethereum...

Hi there ✌🏻 I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer! I'm not flooding/spaming, I'm just sharing funny stories with pictures about my golden retriever puppy Mr. Oliver 🐶🐶🐶 Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested in them! Thanks a lot ❤️

I'm in :-) don't let me down LOL

Right now it's beer time

Drinking beer between! Haha

Beer was for Breakfast, And I ran out so now it's :