My BTC-E account got hacked and how I screwed up but survived(barely).

in #cryptocurrency8 years ago (edited)

Hello cryptocurrency world,

On July 11th at 9:06 pm, my gmail account was breached. Consequently, my account on btc-e was hacked and the hacker whitelisted his IP so I wasn't able to have access to my account.

Here's where I screwed up, I didn't have 2FA on my account and didn't have my own IP whitelisted to begin with.( Yeah I'm a newbie gg) But further to the point, how was my email hacked?

At the time of the hack I was Pokemon go hunting with terrible LTE from T-mobile (Their service has been very poor recently). Frustrated from the lag, I joined an unsecured network and this is where I think I fucked up. When I played on the unsecured wifi network, I constantly had to re-type my gmail user and pass to re log onto Pokemon Go due to the shitty servers and bad connection. I believe this is where I must have checked my phone to check the price of litecoin on btc-e (I had an chrome tab with btc-e logged on). But I'm unsure if its even possible for someone to hack me in this way, just my thoughts.

Anyways...

Once I had found out about the hack, it was around 12:30 Am on July 12th, about 4 hours after the hack. I immediately sent btc-e a support ticket along with the required information on my end. The wait for their response was killing me because at this point I thought that my digital assets were gone forever. It took them about 36 hours to respond to me, which is a long time to tell them to un-whitelist the IP of the hacker. With a proper support team they should have locked my account right when I sent them my information and support ticket.

When I logged back onto my account I surprisingly still had bitcoin on it! The hacker managed to leave 0.6557 btc on my account along with some loose eth and ltc totaling to $460!

Did the hacker feel bad for me? If so I kind of am going to take this as a precautionary fine for not securing my account lol. At the time of the hack my assets were at $900 so I basically lost half of what I had.

During the time the hacker had access to my account, here is what the hacker managed to do:
List of transactions:

Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions
Transactions

Leason to all who are new to cryptocurency and markets, make sure you use 2FA!

Now I'm here on steemit trying to make some steem to cut my losses, wish me luck guys!

This is my first post also! :)

Sort:  

thanks for sharing, I will be more careful when playing pokemon go outside