Cryptocurrency Wallet Recovery and Derivation Paths

header.png

Crypto Wallet Lost/Stolen/PoS

Recently I tried to access my cryptocurrency I had stored on an old KeepKey (ProTip : never buy a KeepKey, it's a piece of shit). I purchased it back when they hit the market, STEEM was still kewl and Poloniex was the hottest exchange to trade STEEM on ... so like 120 years ago in internet time.

When I attempted to load up the KeepKey it would just sit there saying it was trying to load my wallets, but never would. I waited days trying again and again. I updated my firmware (repeatedly), I wiped and restored (repeatedly) and nothing worked and it was pretty frustrating. So I tried to recover my funds to other wallets, but no balances ever showed up after entering my recovery phrase in each one.

But do not fret for there is a solution!

Disclaimer

I'm no expert on this topic, so I'm only posting what worked for me personally when recovering from a KeepKey. Your wallet may differ and there are likely different derivation paths to use for your wallet or coin.

Derivation Paths

  1. Go download the Coinomi wallet, which is what worked for me, or any wallet that will allow you to enter a "derivation path" when adding coins to the wallet.
  2. Choose to recover your wallet and enter your 12+ word recovery phrase for the wallet.
  3. Choose the coin(s) you wish to recover and enter the proper derivation path for each in the "advanced settings" (gear icon).

Ethereum KeepKey Derivation Path

Main Address
  • M/44'/60'/0'/0
    OR
  • M/44H/60H/0H/0
Second Address
  • M/44'/60'/1'/0
Third Address
  • M/44'/60'/2'/0
    ... and so on.

Bitcoin KeepKey Derivation Path

Main Address
  • M/44H/0H/0H/0
Alternate Main Address (did not work for me)
  • M/44H/0H/0H/0/i
Change Address
  • M/44H/0H/0H/1/i

Bitcoin Gold KeepKey Derivation Path

  • M/44H/0H/0H



ProTip

Don't rely on my post to recover your crypto, just know that searching the internet for "derivation path" for your wallet/coin/situation is your friend and do that instead. Use the information you find and best of luck! It worked great for me and I was able to gain access to all of my funds in another wallet.

Don't Get Over-Excited!

As your crypto is being recovered in the new wallet it will replay all of your transactions and your total will be going up in the wallets balance at first (probably from all of those Steem shitposts and memes that made more than they deserved).

Just remember, you spent all of that crypto on weed, burgers, guitars, video games, gambling and strippers ... it will be back to it's normal balance very quickly. ;)

Sort:  

Same bullshit happened to a friend. He was successful using the exodus wallet.