WARNING : Be Careful Using Kucoin.com Exchange - 3 Weeks No Deposit To Account

in #cryptocurrency3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 2021-09-15 140637.png

I'm not feeling like a "valued Kucoin user"

Kucoin.com Deposit Issues

Another exchange is taking users NEAR Protocol deposits and not crediting accounts with the deposits for weeks or months. This time it's Kucoin.com who has 5 digits worth of my funds sitting in their wallet on the NEAR blockchain for 3 weeks now without moving them to my account.

My first deposit was a test of a small amount and I had to contact them repeatedly to get it moved, which took a week. With my second deposit from early August, part of my funds they moved to Kucoin, but Kucoin decided to keep 90 of my NEAR for themselves and credit my account for the remainder.

At least I got the majority of it, but keeping 10% for themselves was either a colossal error or outright scammy. I still haven't had this deposit fully resolved either. And now they're holding 5 figures in NEAR, and the only replies I receive simply ask me to send the same information over and over again.

Even stranger, they aren't asking me for links to the blockchain transactions, they're asking for screenshots of the blockchain transactions as proof of send. Yes, screenshots!

wtf.gif

Four days ago, for at least the tenth time, I sent them the same information I've already provided to Kucoin.com's support via tickets, via chat on their website, via their telegram channel, you name it I've tried to get this resolved anywhere I can locate them, even Twitter (which they never acknowledge) and even their CEO Johnny_Kucoin who also doesn't reply.

I'm not saying I expect a CEO on Twitter to reply to every random person having issues with their exchange, but I tried anyway. But for the record the FTX CEO SBF responds to customers with issues on Twitter.


So as always this is my last resort, call them out on my blog and make as many people as possible aware of their shady practices and slow customer support.


To be fair to them, I've never had an issue with any other token on their exchange and I'm well aware that most exchanges today have issues with NEAR deposits, but it's on their end, not NEAR Protocols, and some exchanges have realized this and are correcting their mistake, albeit slowly.

I expected issues going in because I saw the format of the deposit address, which is the format for creating an account, not for an active account to send/receive funds. This is why I always send a small test deposit first to see how they handle it and then I inform them of the issue and ask them to reach out to the NEAR Devs support Discord.

The problem is, most exchanges don't seem to read an entire email and stop at the first line and move on to the next customer or they never pass the info onto the developers and the problems just continue to exist for a long time until they wonder why they keep having to manually send deposits for a certain token.

I wish the NEAR Protocol developers cared a bit more about their investors to help these exchanges setup properly to support their token by at the least creating some guidance help page, but they don't seem to care much at all.

I've been bringing this up in their Discord for more than half a year when HotBit failed to deposit my NEAR and asked if a NEAR developer could reach out to help, but that never happened.

What's somewhat ironic to me is that I see these NEAR Developers on Twitter talking about how easy it is to develop on NEAR, yet only a few exchanges (only Binance that I'm aware of) can figure out how to make deposits work properly. I can't use Binance in the state I'm in so I've tried others and have yet to find one that has NEAR deposits working properly.

TL;DR : Do not send NEAR Protocol tokens to KUCOIN.COM, COINEX.COM or HOTBIT.IO (who stole my funds 7 months ago and won't reply) or you may never see your funds again. If you're lucky you'll get to spend a few weeks or months going back and forth with various support people sending the same information over and over and over again before it finally arrives.
Sort:  

UPDATE

After nearly 6 weeks, it took trolling the CEO of Kucoin on Twitter for 2 weeks and him finally either noticing or getting sick of it for him to acknowledge the issue and return my funds an hour after he responded.

Seems shady. Hope everything works out

A penny for your troubles.

😩 I'm going to have to release some dicks wearing Adidas NFTs to make this up.

Hell CZ responds to people on twitter. If anyone has an excuse not to he's one of them.

Stay safe with any centralized exchange, avoid these methods of exchange if you can. In the end, all of them will screw you.

!PIZZA

@tuck-fheman! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @donchate.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

4th week, still no funds, still the same BS with support asking me for the same information I've sent repeatedly.