Online Courses on Cryptography

in #cryptography8 years ago

Hey Steemians,

For those of you who’d like to learn some cryptography basics, Coursera has these two courses taught by a Stanford professor:

Cryptography I
Cryptography II

I’m currently in the middle of the first one, and I’m absolutely loving the experience. The course discusses both symmetric and public key ciphers, plus authenticated encryption and hashing (and I believe will cover digital signatures in a later module). If you, like me, wonder what HMAC is, and why CRC checksum is not enough to ensure data integrity — this is the place to learn about such things. And if you are a developer making use of encrypton in your code, this course may help you avoid common pitfalls. Both material and presentation are excellent. Also, as a non-native speaker, I find the course easy to follow.

And Khan Academy has a course discussing Bitcoin internals specifically. I haven’t looked into it yet.

Happy learning!

Sort:  

thanks for sharing. I love bitcoin but need to understand the programming and details of it better.

thanks for sharing. I love bitcoin but need to understand the programming and details of it better. Just listened to part of the Khan Academy and it is from when MtGox was still viable. Still they give a good explanation of what bitcoin is if you have no clue. the Coursera courses seem to be more technical and would be what I would probably spend my time on.