Culture: Carrying Babies On The Back

in #culture2 months ago

One of the ways many African mothers carry their babies is by using wrappers or a piece of clothe to back then. This method has been passed from generation to generation.

While it is common among mothers and girls of various age bracket, it is a very rare sight to see fathers or males use this method. Fortunately and unfortunately for me 🫣, I have a hubby who wouldn't mind the societal view when it comes to offering the best to his boy.

Screenshot_2024-04-08-04-03-08-616_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg
Hubby backing my Sonshine. 🥰

Despite not used to carrying babies on the back, over time he has mastered the art and will be willing to even do it in public places. While I admire his love for my Sonshine, the unfortunate situation is that I get a bit shy of seeing him do it in public. For him though, the public opinion will not define how he makes his child comfortable and happy, especially after he has recuperated to a great measure from his recent ill health.

IMG_20240408_040725.jpg
Can you see his laughter as I beg him to take my boy down?😄

I took this images of him and my Sonshine at an event within the weekend. My Sonshine was prepared to let go of his matching outfit with his dad due to excessive play and excitement of having other kids to play with as seen in the third image. He stained his white so much.

IMG_20240406_094426.jpg

Another 'flex' hubby exhibit that is rare with African dads is the ease he changes our boy's diapers. I really admire that about him. Funny enough, he counts it as nothing. Are there things uncommon for men to do within your environment that you find some do? Please share your experiences.

20230208_204453_0000.png