You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beauty of the traditional patterns

in #culture7 years ago

I know the Chinese use guardian lions to protect temples and even households and I think your interpretation of the eyes looking in different directions is right, @slowwalker.

When I studied Latin literature, I know the Romans used a two-faced god called Janus to perform the same function - he was the guardian of entrances and doorways and one of his faces looked to the future and the other to the past. That would be very appropriate for you, @slowwalker, since time passages are a theme in your art.

The windows of the temple are colourfully painted and remind me of the stained glass in Christian churches. It's interesting that the dragons are mostly primary colours with the exception being green.

I love these photographs - especially the close-ups - they really showcased the detail and the delicacy of the hand-painted flowers.

A very beautiful post, @slowwalker