The Beauty of the traditional patterns

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

I had visited the Tae Go Sa temple several days ago. Tae Go Sa means literally ‘most old temple’. The name Tae Go Sa is very popular in Buddhist Temple. I don’t know the reason why. When I have chance to meet the Monk, I will ask him the reason.

Original Tae Go Sa had been built more than 1400 years ago. But this temple was burned during the Korean War 1950-1953.
After Korean War the temple was established.

The Tae Go Sa temple is located deep in Daw Doon San mountain. It is not easy to approach.

There were so many awesome scenery around the Temple.
Today I’d like to introduce the patterns of the door of the temple. Let me show you another things next time.

The Front board of the temple was written in Golden color. Actually this is really gold.

It was written very well in my view. Well balanced and it have it’s unique beauty.

I took the pics of the windows. The patterns and designs were little bit different in each buildings.

The first was as below

another type of the patterns

I couldn’t take the full window pics regretfully.
I think I need to visit the temple once more.

The patterns were carved by wood and handmade.

There were the Dragon Patterns on the window.

There were 4 different colours of Dragons.

Similar dragons were carved on another window

Colours of Dragons were Blue, Red, Yellow and Green.

There were interesting point on the Dragon.
Did you notice the eyes of dragon.
Yes, right.
They are looking at different direction.
It looks funny, but I think there are reason why.
In my opinion, they are looking at against evils from all directions.

The dragons were carved under the eaves.

There must be connected meaning that I don’t know.
Anyway I need to visit once more.
I have lots of things to ask.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

lovely and beautifull temple :) good to find peace there :)

This post received a 2.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @brothermic! For more information, click here!

It is very beautiful, especially the dragons in blue and green.

so vivid colours

Wowwwwwww, those blues

good one!

Hey @slowwalker, great place to be at. A very calming and peaceful place out there.... The name Tae Go Sa supports the place effortlessly. Old is gold and this temple is epitome of it. The writing on the front was sheer gold class and also written in gold (pun intended)... The dragon eyes were funny indeed and did put a smile on my face... Nice one ✌️✌️

Your comment is touching
Thank you

I just tried to do justice to your post. I hope I did that. ☺️☺️

I know the Chinese use guardian lions to protect temples and even households and I think your interpretation of the eyes looking in different directions is right, @slowwalker.

When I studied Latin literature, I know the Romans used a two-faced god called Janus to perform the same function - he was the guardian of entrances and doorways and one of his faces looked to the future and the other to the past. That would be very appropriate for you, @slowwalker, since time passages are a theme in your art.

The windows of the temple are colourfully painted and remind me of the stained glass in Christian churches. It's interesting that the dragons are mostly primary colours with the exception being green.

I love these photographs - especially the close-ups - they really showcased the detail and the delicacy of the hand-painted flowers.

A very beautiful post, @slowwalker

불교 문양이나 단청의 아름다움은 어디에 내놓아도 손색이 없지요

In Korean culture as far as I know the dragons symbolizes a lot of qualities such as the wisdom, longevity, sexuality, fertility, procreation, and regeneration and even devotion, kindness, and gratitude. They are seen as mythical beings having magical powers so maybe the eyes and the colors have something to do with those qualities.
Anyway, I am always curious when it comes to the Japanese, Korean or Asian cultures in general so if you find out more from the monk, you let us know.

Very beautiful ornamental designs! I would love to see something like this in person :)

Lol
Thank you

Hi!)) Thanks for the interesting and informative story! Very beautiful photos!)) I read with my family with great pleasure!)) Respect!) 😃

Beautiful content you have chosen. Im from Nepal and most of the people are Buddhist, even my friends are some of them. I love their lifestyle how they follow Buddha's norms and rules. Wonderful to read your article. One of the best content so far. I would love to share our thoughts in Steemit dear friend. Hats off to you. Genuinely, I appreciate you....

thank you for reading

Tae Go Sa great temple with wow art man thanks for sharing :)

This is awesome post thank you for posting I upvoted you .
Upvote and follow @jack123

BEAUTIFUL! The artwork is stunning and yes I agree traditional patterns have a beauty that is unmatched as those patterns were created to be symbolic and help reveal the culture behind them. I wonder if the dragons are different colors to show different element ? What ever the case may be, you see something like this and marvel at true craftsmanship and artistry.

Fantastic photos slowwalker, and so very different to our buildings here in England.Upvoted and followed!

love detail like this, great images

Superb pictures

Interesting info I like it great photos

Your photos are stunning, those people that make those pattern are very talented. Next time don't forget to take some shoot of the awesome scenery around the Temple as you told. I would love to see them.

good art

upvoted,
thanks for sharing.

Hi @slowwlaker very nice post many people will love it. I really like the relax atmosphere of Asian temples. I live in south east Asia for 18 years and i have started a serie with pictures and explanation of what it is and tradition. Here are two of my post:
https://steemit.com/photography/@ricko66/picture-of-asia-10-the-naga
https://steemit.com/photography/@ricko66/picture-of-asia-11-spirit-house
Take a look and tell me.
Peace and Happiness to all of you

Beautiful wood carving..temples usually a reflections of a culture.

How intricate and detailed of the artworks. The woodworking was so phenomenal. The small details of the temple is top notch, great job @slowwalker. :)

And the menacing stare of the dragon, protecting and guardiang us from harm.

Wow! Gorgeous Dragon carvings! I love stuff like this! It makes me wonder why we have so many plain buildings when we could carve stuff like this.

Hi there...

You made me interested in talking about cultural issues. First of all, I like the ornamental style of this temple, especially on the very rich floral motifs.

The second thing, about the dragons. Interesting, indeed, when the dragon's eyes glanced in different directions. In addition to the colors and directions of the eyes of the dragons, I also noticed that some dragons had a slightly different way of smiling and laughing. So I am more and more curious about the symbolic meanings of these expressions. And forgive me, because I have not been able to accept your assumption, that all these expressions are about against evils. I see the friendly expressions here, even looking funny and inviting us to smile with them.

By the way, this is a great post, leading to the discussion.

Thank you for your comment
Dragons' smile is so interesting.
I 'd like to interpret that smile as a sign of welcom to the visitors.
That would be one more reason to visit the temple again

Wow, those dragon shapes and colours are truly amazing!

its amazing...great..

Waao very awesome that shows the hardwork of the makers,very uniqe art,thanks for share buddy :)

wow, I have never seen doors like that! maybe only in some movies!

What amazes me more than anything about art like this - is the ENERGY that is put into it! it is beautiful on it own, but knowing that fact, makes it even more beautiful.

Would love your thoughts on my latest posts if you have a moment.. :)

https://steemit.com/life/@jaynie/my-son-rocks-welcome-to-my-world-6

https://steemit.com/food/@jaynie/fusilli-with-bacon-and-chilli-what-s-cooking-good-looking-6

Nice boy

thank you xxx

Nice post @slowwalker, beautiful art ornaments.

Very pretty. How fortunate they are In Europe it is forbidden to take photos in museums and castles.

It's bad.
That's the legacy of all mankind

Beautiful patterns bro :]

Very good information about Tae Go Sa temple. Photos are amazing. I would like to visit this place. Thanks for sharing.

Tae Go Sa sounds like some ancient temple and it's funny how it's direct translation is 'most old temple' haha
Sad to see how in wars some beautiful places can be destroyed and wrecked but at least we have this around with its beautiful intricate art and design.
I love the look of the different coloured dragons.
Great Photographs @slowwalker

This is the beauty of Korea. Amazing :)

It is conected meaning at last in the bulgarian paterns it is :)

Amazing stuff man thanks.. resteem

DAT DRAGON THOUGHT

thanks for the info. very useful :)
followed and upvoted !
pls visit my blog @swssmarketing too :)

beautiful post
i like it @slowwalker
thank for sharing

Tbh, those patterns looks really interesting. Dragons are really fascinating. :D

Very nice temple! About dragon eyes, yes, this could be the reason why they look in different directions.

Beautiful architecture, it's colorful and lovely

Amazing! I like traditional patterns too, especially the ones in churches! :)

There are 2 pages
Pages