You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beauty of the traditional patterns

in #culture7 years ago

Hi there...

You made me interested in talking about cultural issues. First of all, I like the ornamental style of this temple, especially on the very rich floral motifs.

The second thing, about the dragons. Interesting, indeed, when the dragon's eyes glanced in different directions. In addition to the colors and directions of the eyes of the dragons, I also noticed that some dragons had a slightly different way of smiling and laughing. So I am more and more curious about the symbolic meanings of these expressions. And forgive me, because I have not been able to accept your assumption, that all these expressions are about against evils. I see the friendly expressions here, even looking funny and inviting us to smile with them.

By the way, this is a great post, leading to the discussion.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment
Dragons' smile is so interesting.
I 'd like to interpret that smile as a sign of welcom to the visitors.
That would be one more reason to visit the temple again