What Dutch People Say #08

in #culture7 years ago

It's been awhile but we are still going strong!


Yes, indeed. It is time for another What Dutch People Say! As a Dutch person born and raised in Amsterdam, I never realized how many of these expressions and sayings we use until I went to live in Berlin and only listen to Dutch when i visit my hometown.

I just wanted to share the funny expressions we use without even realizing!

brandweer.png

AAAAOOOOAAAAAOOOOAAAAOOO. Going as fast as the fire department!


kind was.png

Apparently something is SO easy, that even a kid can do it. You just have to sit and watch it happen.

latijn.png

There is speculation about how this expression was created, however it has do to something with the complicated Latin language and people not understanding it, ha!


This time no vulgar words! Maybe next time!


Sort:  

Nice post, 100 %upvote :)

Thanks <3

This post received a 3.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @sjennon! For more information, click here!

Kind Kan de was doen!

Yes indeed!

Oh no how come no vulgar words @sjennon! The post is too clean from what i use to read! Hahaha!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Haha I bet it's your favorite part huh? Haha.

I think I covered most of them so I'll have to check and see what's left :')

The last one is exactly the same in German: Ich bin am Ende mit meinem Latein.

Ooyes! I noticed quite some things are similar to German when it comes to sayings!