3 Buddhas and Trinity, Inside of the temple

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

20171019

Inside of this temple was also quiet different from that of other temples in it’s decoration and ornaments

There were 3 Buddhas in the praying room which was common in every temple in Korea.

IMG_6583.JPG

Something special in this temple was there were treasures inside of the Buddha statue.
When the Buddha statue was made, they put many things into the statue.
For several years they needed to open open the Buddha statue to repair. At that time lots of things, for example, record of the making the Buddha statue and the History of the temple, clothes, small buddha statue, even there was a skeleton of baby were found inside of the Buddha Statue.

IMG_6506.JPG

What attracted my eye first was ceiling. Actually every thing in this room was very impressive.
On the ceiling I could find birds as Gwan Chock Sa. I had posted on white bird of wild geese.
Here I saw birds as same as those of Gwan Chock Sa.

IMG_6561.JPG

IMG_6570.JPG

Some of my acquaintance told me that birds on the ceiling was not wild geese but cranes. I don't know which one is correct. I asked about this problem. But even Buddhist monk did not give me exact answer.

IMG_6601.JPG

Bird of center was a phoenix.

IMG_6602.JPG
Phoenix in Buddhism was believed as a messenger from heaven to this world.

There were 3 palaces having name of the palace for each Buddha.
Each Buddha statue had it’s palace.

Each palace has it’s own name.

IMG_6598.JPG
The name of this palace is 7 treasures palace

IMG_6564.JPG

This palace is for Amitabha Buddha

IMG_6588.JPG

IMG_6565.JPG

IMG_6599.JPG
The meaning of this palace is Ending affliction palace
It is for Sakyamuni Buddha and main palace.

IMG_6595.JPG

The name is Full moon palace
IMG_6566.JPG

It is forMedicine Buddha

IMG_6567.JPG

Each palace had beautiful ornaments of lotus and dragons

The face of dragon looks funny.

IMG_6591.JPG

IMG_6592.JPG

IMG_6593.JPG

May be they'd like to show the friendly expression to people.

In my guess, Christianity and Buddhism have some similarities in doctrine.
Trinity and 3 Buddhas are the representative aspect.
3 Buddhas in Mahayanist Buddhism is as same as Trinity in Christianity in my opinion.

Similar to trinity, it is believed that 3 Buddha seemed believed to come from one Buddha.

Sort:  

hey my friend thanks for sharing Lord Buddha statue and very great Temple.
I live in India and there is a city called Bodh Gaya where everyone worship Lord Buddha..Very nice and peace place.I hope you have heard about Bodh Gaya.Great post.

I'd like to get there
Thank you

you are most welcome my friend in India..

I am doing breath meditation from long time which most of Buddhism followers practice. Buddha teachings are boon to the world. Buddha created a new type of spiritual practice, he is against the idol worship.

why not.
but we could enjoy the statues as an art

Really good think. I like your post.

very interesting post and informative

always learn the culture from your post when i read it , thanks for your hard work ! such good job , thank you for sharing !

thank you for reading my posting

beautiful thank you for sharing seven culture <3

and also I want to share that in Indian city Bodh gaya where Lord Gautama Buddha is said to have obtained Enlightenment under Bodhi Tree..

budha yes

very beautiful and interesting post thanks for sharing with us

I went to Donghak Sa temple with some of my colleagues yesterday. I saw three seated buddas which is designated one of the national tresures in there. I am suddenly curious why it is common to be seen three buddas in the Korean temple. I want to know the exact fact. It is really amazing that Christianity and Buddhism have some similarities.

I don't know the reason exactly.
It seemed tame based arrangement, I think.

very beautiful and interesting post; nice culture thanks for sharing with us keep go on

thank you so much

Great Post & Pictures!
Thanks for sharing this awesome place.
Steem on :)

thank you so much

beautiful post! i love how diverse your work is :D

nice post..upvoted my friend.

Is Korea immersed highly in Buddhism?

I know Thailand it.

Not so much as Thailand, lol

Okay. haha.

wow such a beautiful place thanks for sharing this post

wonderful impressions my friend. And congratulations to 5K followers !! great job !!!

Nice photos.

While there are many similarities between Christianity and Buddhism I would have to disagree with your assumption that the 3 buddhas are similar to the trinity in Christianity. Based solely on the fact that Buddhists don't believe in a God.

I am unfamiliar with the 3 Buddhas in the Mahayana but a core tenant of Buddhism is that there is no god. It is possible that they could represent 3 of the many Buddhas throughout history or to show that there anyone can achieve enlightenment.

there could be many other interpretations.
In Buddhism, it seems that there is God in Buddhism, but the meaning of God is not important in Buddhism.
Buddhism focused in attaining the highest level of spiritual awakening.

I do agree that Buddhism is focused on practical living and ending suffering. And that the meaning of God or the first cause is not important.

Yet, I do still disagree that there is a God in Buddhism especially in how it relates to the trinity. In Buddhist literature there can be gods in other realms but no personal God like in Christianity or the Trinity.

I'd like to ask for a reference to what you thinking about.

It would be nice to know the reason of the baby skeleton found in the statue my friend. I am wondering why they put this inside!

Yes, I am really curious about that.

nice photos

The dragon looks like he is doing 메롱 ㅎㅎㅎㅍㅎㅎ

Beautiful! Thanks for sharing this with us. We visit so many Buddhist temples in SE-Asia but never know the exact meaning. Not only Christianity and Buddhism have some similarities in doctrine, all religions have.

Thank you for reading.

I like temple~good post and good pic! Thank u for sharing 😊

thank you for reading

may be true in trinity, and 3 buddhas may be from one budha..

Nice post mind blowing
Follow me back

Very interesting thank you for sharing appreciate it, keep up the good work @mannyfig1956

A very interesting post. I think all religions have much in common, many of the lesser deities are aspects of one great deity. We all strive for a closer connection to the one God of all.

lol

I don't understand your response.

I like your post

nice post..

AMAmzing photos and such a beautiful place, @slowwalker!

Very good and genuine post.
I would say my words about the similarities between religions.
I think they all have commonalities because they are about teaching people how to live together with the nature and what's surrounding us.
Being a God, a book or a human being to follow, it's all about being a good person in the world.

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

Zen mind beginner's mind.

Thank you for sharing @slowwalker.

Hello. Thank you for your photos. I would probably guess cranes for the birds over geese. The legs look longer, which reminds me of cranes.
From Birds of the World - some crane pics. http://carolinabirds.org/HTML/Gruiforme_Crane.htm

Goose photos from Beauty of Birds https://www.beautyofbirds.com/geesephotos.html

hi slow walker according to you interest you can got more in india

Coolest place ! Nice photos !! thanks for sharing my friend @slowwalker !

Hi, what a good post