Backyard alley in Seoul

in #culture7 years ago

Seoul is metropolitan.
You can see skyscrapers, fantastic restaurant and very expensive department.
But everything has plus and minus, bright and darkness,
In this time, let me introduce backyard alley in Seoul. I had walked around the backyard alley with my friend in Seoul, several weeks ago.
We, middle ages, all remembered the past of seoul city. So it was a trip to the past for us.

At the entrance of the alley, I could look at old wall and small and tiny trees.

This scene guided me to think the fate of this alley.
It seemed that many people had been working in this alley to raise their family. But everything has gone now.

The tiny tree looked like the symbol of new hope in this alley.

This place located in the center of Seoul, surrounded by skyscrapers.

70 years old traditional restaurant

small store

I didn’t know that there existed these alleys in Seoul. My friend told me that there are much more alley older than this.

I ‘d like to take the pictures of the old alleys in Seoul.

We never forget the Past.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

It always fascinates me how different worlds clash in Asia.
You can have skyscrapers, glamour, fancy restaurants and luxury stores in the town center, but if you walk around the corner you can find old alleys like this one.
Thanks for sharing these pictures, it gives a unique outlook on the city Seoul! I'd love to visit one day, I've only heard great things about it. Must be a very lively city

Thank you so much for your comment @sirwinchester.
It is great honour for me

@slowwalker nim, do you appreciate the countryside now? :)
I saw one of them in a documentary here
I guess its the same all over the world - there's always such a sight

Nice shots...

There looks like the other cities in Asia. Although I am in Southeast Asia. I am very interested to go to Seoul, just not have a chance :)
Seeing the alleys in your photo makes me feel familiar. Thanks for share, @slowwalker

Thank you for your comment

The purpose of the past is to remind us of the distance of our journey.

As we travel, the distance appears short. But it is relative.

Viewed over many years, we can see just how far we have travelled.

Us, as individuals. But communities and cities too.

Great post.

Thank you for your comment

Nice pictures and there are indeed many old alleys in Seoul and sometimes like a maze for people not knowing the streets. But the funny thing is that they are old but usually welll kept, very clean and safe where I used to live in Sinchon area. Guess it has something to done with the good mentality of the Korean people to keep things tidy and to be responsible for your own neighbourhood :)

Thank you so much

This is exactly what Hong Kong government do! It is very short sighted to tear down everything to construct new buildings just for profits.
Hong Kong is now a city without tradition, without soul.
I miss the good old days of Hong Kong. Too bad it will never come back.

Beautiful and insightful as always with your words and your photos my friend.

  • Say hi to your mom for me again

LOL

(:

Thank you so much
My mom will like your warm word

I love your posts and you know that.

It is good to encourage one another.

(:

I've done that before where you've found a new street or alley in a city and you think you knew the whole place. It's a funny feeling!

interesting.

good

oh, you are generous! Thank you :-O

가끔은 그리울때가 있지요
저기 한구섞 문방구에서 줄을서 있던 한소년이...

옛날이라는 것이...

Thought provoking post @slowwalker. I love history!!
Your visit to the past must have been enjoyable.
I always love to revisit memorable places.
Last week I did that, I visited my boyhood neighborhood. Happy memories!!

Thank you for your comment.
I think we have a same tendancy to recall the past.

Good for the Seoul! I really want to visit. Looks like an amazing place. Nothing better than travelling and walking the alley ways. Seeing all the local shops, businesses and culture. Upvoted!

good for the Seoul!

Genius.
please tell me you have an instagram @slowwalker...upvoted and followed @slowwalker and @grimboslice819. Keep it up!

Sorry I am steemit addict

You need to visit Korea.

I like the way you do a photo essay describing your feelings in words and using photos to illustrate your post.

I do similar things in Toronto - I visit old houses where I used to live and search for dates stamped into the concrete sidewalks. Sometimes I find dates from the late 1800's.

That tree is symbolic of hope for that alley and hopefully for a united country some day in the future :)

Thank you for your comment
I am glad that we have a same hobby.
Let's exchange our hobby

you're very welcome!

I'd like that, @slowwalker :)

Thanks for sharing the soul of Seoul while your soles are in Seoul! :)

Every road must have millions of stories. There needs to be a google maps with a whole collage of geo-tagged photos. Then we could see how everyone's perceptions of the location are different from one another just by looking at the difference in photos.

Intersting comment
Thank you

Seems very sad... People leaving their lives back in the past. Just think how much time and effort had these people invested in their crafts, their restaurants and their life.
When I visit foreign countries I always try to go in the small streets. To walk by the ordinary people, the ones that doesn't have much. I can thus catch the spirit of the place, and traditions of the nation.
Such a good article!

This is what I love about STEEMIT. I have never travelled to Asia and would love to one day just to see the gardens but, here I can experience what a true Metropolis is, as I am a country girl, living in a small town. It's seems all too exciting and makes me want to truly experience it. Thanks for sharing

Thank you for dropping by

Nice Picture and City
Follow and vote me @sallsteem
Nice to meet you

Thx for sharing. I really enjoy these kinds of pictures and I didnt know Seoul looked like this. :)

Hahaha
Seoul has many faces

I was born in Seoul, Korea and have a lot of family there. I have to visit again!

Good !
nice to meet you here

Same to you :)

It is really interesting to compare the way cities have evolved compared to where I live.

Yes that's interesting

great shots.looks familliar

Wow nice pics I havent been in korean since i was 5. Good to see different areas i have never seen before! Keep up the good work 👍

Thank you so much

Wow... Seems like the longer the post and the more pictures, one tends to get move votes and followers...
@pocketechange

So much character. There's a lot of beauty in character. The streets are really clean.

really ?
Thank you

These are some great pictures.
Are most of these alleys abandoned?

No, people are living there

Seoul is one of the most underrated cities in Asia in my opinion. I have lived there for some time and also visited Korea's northern (less friendly) neighbour. Fascinating mix of culture, great nightlife and food, and the people are surprisingly funny!

Should you be interested in the story on North Korea, you can follow my blog. I have been there a couple of times and also lectured on the country at universities.

amazing.
I am really interested in North korea story

Pics speaks
Nice

So much history what must go on all these years behind the alleys thank you for the pictures I loved them very real like I'm there 🕊

Thank you @cecirod1218

Hey! How are you? I love your steems am looking forward to your next one! Have a happy Monday!😊🙃

Thanks for the share fun to see!

Nice photos! Thank u for sharing it with us.
I like the old places like this. The skyscrapers n mordern buildings have their own charm but the old places like thi alley fascinate me a lot.
Upvoted n resteemed!

It's Metropolitan but hometown, haha
Sorry friend, i love to joke 😀😀😀

Very interesting place this. I am amazed at the amount of cables hanging about there. Thanks for sharing!

안녕 내 친구
이 아름다운 이미지는 나는 역사와 랜드 마크 거리를 보는 것을 볼 수
당신이 내 친구를 감사

It's sad that in the middle of a booming city this happens. Nice to see hope and tradition still alive though. Great picture and thanks for sharing!! Upvoted and Followed!

Thank you so much

Yes. the new springs up right through the old which eventually disappears.
True of buildings and cultures.
Thank you for capturing this before it disappears forever.

thank you
You exactely picked up the reason why I took a photo of the back yard alleys

That's unique!

awe. little tree of new hope

멋있는 사진이네요

i like your post, thanks for sharing

조선옥은 어떤가요~~?

70년 전통의 집입니다

Cool pictures. I love walking the back streets in Tokyo, there is always so much there to find.

Oh, interesting

Cool photos. I'd love to visit here one day.

You need to visit absolutely

Great pics. I love stuff like that. Everything is closed and no soul to be seen. :)

기다리고 있었습니다.^^
slowwalker님은 역시 힐링입니다.
저도 예전 어릴때 뛰어놀던 곳 근처 지나가면
예전 생각도 나고 좋더라고요. ㅎㅎ

그렇지요

These alleys have a lot of character to them.

Why not

I mean - they look very colorful and interesting. I like it.

Thank you for sharing! I love finding hidden spots outside the normal attractions of a city.

우리에겐 낮익은 풍경이지만..
해외에 계신 교포분들은 옛날을 떠올릴 수 있겠군요.
잘 보고 갑니다.
행복하세요~:D

감사합니다.

If one day I am to Seoul, I will see the alley directly :)

I think every alleys are similar, aren't they

There are 2 pages
Pages