Reminiscence in the street

in #culture7 years ago

There were old book and old LP store in the alley.
I encountered them in the alley.
As soon as I saw the stores, they push me in reminiscence to my high school years. I loved to read books. But it was not easy to buy books. We were poor and the library was far from me.

When I had collected pocket money, I ran into the old book store. At that time there was a old book store street. I had spent whole weekend.
Now the old book store street was disappeared. There are so many libraries near my village.
But I remember my pure pleasure from reading books. When I was young, I had read books for my spiritual pleasure. Now I have read books for getting information for my job.
At the Old Book Store, I remembered the pure pleasure of my high school years.

I could buy several books with the money to buy a new book.

Besides of the old book store, There was a LP store.
I love music. I am listening music with CD and MP files, mostly MP files.
LPs made me think my college ages.
There was a my friend who had clear soul. We had met very often in our college times. The best thing I remember with him was music. We had heard “Honesty” of Billy Joel. Of course, I got to recognize that the honesty was such a lonely road.
Now I think I understand why he sang the Honesty. We with my friend had listened music and followed to sing in a small back room.
Now time splitted us. After graduation from the college, we went to our ways to live. Sometimes I missed him and the time we spent together.

one old gentleman was looking at LPs
May be he was hunting his old memories

Thank you to read, Steemians !

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Today you have a special day. But do not remember what a holiday is today, because there is no significant day for you today. Just you will have a cool day, saturated with pleasant emotions, for joyous moments. I'm sure that you'll be all in high spirits today, because in the morning you got such a positive charge. I want you to start every day with good emotions, because they play a significant role in our lives. I really want you to never be sad that you do not tune in to negativity. You should wake up in the morning with a smile, with a good mood. Your thoughts must be positive, then everything will be cool. It is important for me that you know how to enjoy trifles. Agree that life will become much more interesting and brighter. Do not be afraid of positive emotions, do not be afraid to be happy.

Thank you so much

Lots in here as well. We have this place in Philippines and they called it Moray-Rector Street. Books are sold along the avenue of the said streets. If are you looking for some hard to find books, just go there and for sure you can find and buy one at a cheaper price. Great and Thanks for sharing :)

Great

@slowwalker thank youso much for your generosity. I appreciate greatly your upvote in my comments.

고등학교때 중고 참고서 사러가곤 처음 이네요

저도 오랜만에 갔습니다

Oh my god. I love old book so much! Or I should say I love physical book so much. I love to visit those old book store in Hong Kong also. But sad that it becoming less and less because of the high rental fee in Hong Kong. And what's more difficult in Hong Kong is every one live in a small flat and don't really have place to store the book..sigh

It is as same as in korea.
🤒

^^^UPVOTED^^^

Lol
Thank you

It is the truth.

Wow those are a lot of books
I like read book when i need time for relax
Thank you for sharing^_^

Thank you so much

I love books. I love reading. I love writing (Indonesian). Buku adalah jendela dunia (Indonesian Proverb)

Thank you

i like LPS a lot!
we still have a lot here and the player too
you too?
too many books!
does this mean - many Koreans wrote a book?
hmm.. interesting

Turn tables already became antique in korea. Lol

Wow...
So many books

must be heaven on earth for book and music lovers

Now that's alot of books!Like the story!

Thank you so much 😁

I wish you and your friend to see eachother and listen music again .

Indeed, life give us a happy ending on this story :)

This post actually describes me, reading books then was so fancy, I was not born with a silver spoon and there were no libraries in my town, I had to borrow from friends that could afford these books. I also save money to buy EP & LP, they were expensive then, but you can not run from your hubby.

Hahaha
Thank you

The photos are awesome! We do not have a shop of this kind in Europe. The first one is really crazy. I will follow you. Thank you for sharing this ride with us it is very interesting :)

Thank you bro 👍

Oh, it's so amazing to plunge into the past. So many memories come
I believe that you had a great walk

Upvoted/followed/appreciated! What a cool blog you have! Thanks for sharing your experiences

Thank you so much

Heart touching
I feel respectful for you after reading whole Article
Love books

Thank youso much

The book is very much, maybe someone will be able to read it all ..
Do you like to read books?

Yes I do

Oh, that's very good in my opinion.

Wow those are ALOT of books that is like a dream to me📒📘📙📗📕📚📖 I have read a book a day ... I am a speed reader but since I started steeming I haven't read much I'm too busy reading on here. Those are wonderful stores and thank you for sharing your memories read on and steem on! 🕊

hard to find like this one these days ..

You are right

Am I dead? Is this heaven?
Wish I could upvote this a zillion times <3

hahaha
thank you

So many books with so many stories! I remember when I was a kid, books were the gateway to imagination. Every time I opened one, I was in another world. Now they have all kinds of ebooks and things online but personally, I like the old fashion hand held :)

Such an amazing store piled high with books and memories, my friend!

I love that Billy Joel song - being honest with yourself and others is the most rewarding path to follow, but it's true- it can be a lonely road.

A lot of millenials here in Toronto are once again buying LP's and CD's - this generation seems to prefer that. Two things seem to stimulate memories - familiar scents and music.

I think inhaling the nutmeg scent of old books and hearing that song again brought to your mind your old friend.

I was a beautiful memory.

Thank you for your warm comment

you're very welcome, @slowwalker. I find your posts are very peaceful and relaxing :)

@slowwalker
I also read a lot of book when I was young. We had cold winters, and that was a good time to read.
When we are reminiscing about the years and friends that we shared our lives with. It tugs at our heart strings.
You wrote: Now the old book store street was disappeared.
If it is not sad, at least it is disappointing.
But, we move forward. Reminiscing about the old is good. But then along comes Steemit. And I am communicating with you many miles away. Around the world.
So, in our remorse, we do have something new. And it is very good.
Thank you for this moment of time. It was good to remember with you.

Francis

Thank you so much

@slowwalker
Thank you so much. You are so kind. You make Steemit a better place for all of us.

Remember the hard fork coming in Steemit. It will begin in just over an hour.
Upvoting will have four (4) times the Upvoting Power, if the posters of it are right.
Meaning that our upvote power will diminish quickly with each upvote.

Francis

Think of all of that collective of knowledge, art, music, life, and experience all on one very cool place.

이제는 어느덧 헌책을 넘어, 온라인서점, 이북들이 디지털이라는 문명의 이기속에 기억까지도 잠식하려나 봅니다, 하지만, 낡은 사진의 한장이 기록에 많은 것을 생각하게 하듯, 아직 청계천에서 동대문을 가는 길목의 이 시장들이 많은 사람들의 추억을 대신 보관하고 있는지도 모르겠습니다.
(사실 영어가 짧아서. ^^; 내용을 잘 이해하지는 못했습니다. 포스팅 해주신 사진만으로도 많은 생각을 들게 하네요.. 감사합니다. )

감사합니다 👍

"I remember my pure pleasure from reading books. When I was young, I had read books for my spiritual pleasure. Now I have read books for getting information for my job."

I totally feel you there, i haven't read a book in years time~

Walking into old books/LP stores must be like digging in treasure island, you will never know what you come across~

Hello my friend
A wonderful collection of books
There is a book that does not grieve I want to send you

80년대 초등학교 시절에 아버지와 중고책 및 LP판을 사러 갔던 기억이 납니다. 추억을 떠올리게 해주셔서 감사합니다. ^^

감사합니다

there might be The Beatles in those mountains of LPs

A scene that reminds me of memories.

nice pic bro..
i followed you steemit account because you are a very supportive member in steem community
please help me rise my steempower thanks ..

That books there contains everything in this world. Can one person read about all these book for about 3 time. I love your stuffs there

Thank you so much

i like your posts, thank for sharing

Nice story, beautiful pictures too, not that it bothers me, but if you want I can reread your blogs and make the English spelling even better :) Thank you for sharing this story brother.

English is my second language.
There must be many mitakes in my posting.
But I hope you can understand me.
I will try for better english.

오래된 책들과 오래된 책장에서는 뭔가 다른 향기가 나와서 기분이 좋아져요 ㅎㅎㅎ
청계 쪽에 헌책 서점들이 많은 건 알고 있었는데 잊고 있었네요
역시 책도 보는 눈이 있어야 보물도 알아보는 것 같습니다 ㅎㅎ
감사히 읽었습니다!

감사합니다

Wow! That is so cool!

Many books rain of books haahahha :0

E-books are great, but there's something about the smell, and the feel of books that is extremely comforting.

I agree with you

Wow, this is kind of photos and cultural posts I want to see. I can understand your attraction to these stories. There were so many used book stores in Japan, I became addicted to buying books. Eventually I had to stop because I had too many

I want go and photography this street.... it looks very cool :)

Thank you so much

you are welcome :)

This is Seoul, right?

yes i also love lp and books and have a large collection gathering dust -- i sold some lps recently but couldn't bring myself to let go of the large majority that i have strong feelings of attachment for

Amazing! I like reading. Paper books cause excitement in me when I take it into my hands!

That's right

Wow i like books! Thanks for your post @slowwalker

Thank you so much

Looks like a collector's delight and a bibliophile's dream.

🙋‍♂️👍

Im not much of a reader per say, but thank you for the reminder about reading books ..

You are welcome

great post. thank you!

There are 2 pages
Pages