Curie Author Showcase (March 15th, 2018)

in #curation6 years ago

Curie Author Showcase transparency2.png

  • In spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.


Featured Author: @derangedvisions
My first feature film is now LIVE!! War-torn: The Story of "Dobie" Gillies


It is a true honor to showcase this documentary movie about Lynn "Dobie" Gillies, a military veteran and local community leader, whose seemingly well-ordered life fell apart because of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) stemming from his military service. It is a story of healing as well as of pain, a story of courage and hope for anyone suffering from PTSD, not only those in the military and veteran community: https://steemit.com/film/@derangedvisions/my-first-feature-film-is-now-live-war-torn-the-story-of-dobie-gillies

@derangedvisions helpfully provides a timeline of key points for those of you who do not have the time to watch an hour long film in one sitting:

• 0:00-8:20 – Intro and background as Mayor
• 8:20-16:51 – Enlisted Military service
• 16:51-23:18 – Flight School Training
• 23:18-36:10 – Vietnam War and Rescue
• 36:10-56:32 – Living with PTSD and message of hope

I am a husband and father of two great children. I served in the military for almost 10 years and spent 30 months deployed to Iraq. When I decided to tell Lynn's story of his experience in Vietnam, both him and I wanted it to have a message of hope for all of those suffering from PTSD and to educate people about PTSD so that if they know someone who is suffering, they can have a better understanding on how to help and support their loved ones. Lynn waited so long to seek out help, like so many others do, that he lost everything and he wants to make sure that others do not follow in his footsteps and that they are able to get the help they need before that happens. Thank you for letting me share his great story with everyone.

Featured Author: @amandarichards
Sad Songs, Lament Singing, The Blues and Sacred Music as a Tool for Emotional Healing Part 1

It feels appropriate that our next featured post is about music as a tool for emotional healing. And what an amazing post it is, as @amandarichards gives us both a thought-provoking text on sad songs as sacred music, and shares her own beautiful voice in a haunting rendition of The Water Is Wide (traditional song):

https://steemit.com/writing/@amandarichards/sad-songs-lament-singing-the-blues-and-sacred-music-as-a-tool-for-emotional-healing-part-1

Amanda Richards is an award-winning songwriter, entertainer and playwright from Portland, OR where she performs regularly with her band, The Good Long Whiles. More info can be found at www.amandarichards.net.

Featured Author: @warpedpoetic
JUDGE AND JURY: AN EXPERIMENT



Post cover image sourced from pixabay

A commenter on this post called it "dark fiction" and I think it is an apt description of the story, but the post is so much more than that as well. "Interludes" of original poetry separate three short chapters of fiction which follow a hungry young boy. The poetry has a timeless, universal feel, sad and longing and brimming with deep meaning. The fiction... well... I do not want to spoil the experience of reading this through to the end. Please follow the link before you read @warpedpoetic's comments below:

https://steemit.com/fiction/@warpedpoetic/judge-and-jury-an-experiment

In the world all over, people have fallen victim of mob lynching for either committing a crime or simply for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

In my post, I explore how a person in such a position could feel, who he or she could be. My aim being to show that these people that we have shown such depravity, are also human beings, whose story might have warranted sympathy from us, if we but listened.

I am also looking at mob mentality; how easy it is for well-behaved individuals to get carried away by the explosion of emotions in the mob, into perpetrating unspeakable acts that their saner selves will never allow.


Featured Author: @elenahornfilm
A Show for Myself (#EPISODE 5) - This is the doomsday, the FINAL EPISODE.

This is the story of unlikely heroes.
They happen to be women.
They happen to be b-movie extras.
They happen to have a longing to perform in a serious work of art.
This film happens to be it.

The quality of acting, cinematography and sound production here is unusually high for a micro budget film. The (all female) cast is really strong, giving us well defined and memorable characters. If a movie about people who are making a movie sounds too meta for you, have no fear - this is not a pretentious film and it has broad appeal. It's the story of the 99% of people, actresses in this case, who do not make it because they don't fit the standards. Who set the standards, though?

Our featured post is the final episode of a 5 part series, and I highly recommend watching from the beginning!
A Show for Myself EPISODE 5: https://steemit.com/life/@elenahornfilm/v4bgassf

EPISODE 1
EPISODE 2
EPISODE 3
EPISODE 4

We are Alessandro and Elena - two documentary filmmakers from Italy and Germany. We never thought that we could make a good team due to our clashing work ethics - but until now, it works great. We want to establish Steemit as a place for art-house-fiction films!



ELENA & ALE


Featured Author: @timothybusker
Steemit Openmic week 76, @timothybusker cover song of Damien Rice "The greatest bastard"



Screencap used with permission from @timothybusker

There is something eerily compelling about @timothybusker standing alone in the dark, in the snow, on an empty street, and singing his heart out for Steemit Open Mic. This beautiful cover eases in with a slow simmer before the vocal really picks up intensity toward the end. @timothybusker has a clear pure voice perfectly suited for the cold clear evening. And he obviously has some real dedication to music and the art of busking to be out there in the Swedish winter!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@timothybusker/steemit-openmic-week-76-timothybusker-cover-song-of-damien-rice-the-greatest-bastard

I really love busking, the freedom of it, the fact that I don't need to plan my life with a calendar very much and that I get to share what I feel and have to say to with basically everyone that chooses to listen, all walks of life, the rich, the poor, people of all beliefs, political views and musical orientations. And one thing I really love about playing the streets is the lack of pressure, as in if you don't like/connect with what you hear you can just keep walking... I feel this really brings out the best of me as a musician and as a human being.


This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie community representative @carlgnash with input from other Curie curators and reviewers. Author permission was sought and obtained from all authors featured in this showcase. All works the copyright of their respective authors and used with permission.

Sort:  

Thank you @curie and @carlgnash for helping to bring my film showcase my film to the Steemit community. You have no idea how much it means to me that the message of the film has been able to reach so many people. The amount of support I have received and the stories I have heard from those that my film has help has been overwhelming. Thank you again.

You have totally deserved it @derangedvisions ! Woehoe, I'm happy to see your video is listed in this post!

I huge thank you to you as well @rubencress. You played a very big role in bringing this film out to the community. I wish you success with everything and I am still waiting for your beer challenge to start. I have been thinking about which beers I will be buying and cool places that I can take some pictures of them for your challenge.

Probably will be able to do the Beer Challenge in two weeks if I wanna try to dip into the sndbox program.

I keep hearing people talking about the sndbox thing, but i have no clue what it is

Speaking personally this was truly my honor, and I know the entire Curie organization was very impressed with the quality of your film and the story it told. Congratulations on well deserved success and I hope it reaches those who need it most.

Much love - Carl

Thank you. It was a very personal project of mine that I had invested hundreds of hours into. I am truly appreciative of the Steemit community for the support that I have received.

Thank you @curie for this. You are a big part of my success story here on steemit and I am very grateful for the curations that I have received from you.

I hope and pray for the continued success of this project as there are so many talents out there waiting to be discovered. Once again, thank you. Stay safe, Peace.

Thanks for writing one of the most unusual, thought-provoking and truly compelling posts I have ever read here! You rock :) Much love - Carl

Oh thanks man. That's validating.

Wow! What an honor! Thank you so much for featuring my article. I am definitely excited and inspired to be be on this platform. Thanks again!

I was blown away both by your voice and your mission to find and record sad songs - music is healing, and rhythm and melody have been known for their healing elements for as long as human oral tradition stretches back and into the dreamtime beyond. Looking forward to your future posting. Much love - Carl

Hey just F YI it looks like you left this comment in duplicate - you can still delete the doubled comment below until/unless someone upvotes it or replies to it. Just FYI, when Steemit gives you a "transaction broadcast error" or otherwise spins its wheels and seems to do nothing when you try to leave a comment or post a post, most of the time it actually worked. Try opening a new tab and seeing if the comment or post is showing there before you leave another one :) Cheers - Carl

Hmm... I don't seem to see the doubled comment to delete it. :/

Thank you Carl. I have some sad songs I will be posting very soon. Thanks so much!

This is some really cool work your doing here! Love the content and the idea <3
Big love from @timothybusker

Thanks for rocking @timothybusker! You really have a soulful voice :) Much love - Carl

thank you for the motivation with your post, therefore I take the policy to resteem your post

@curie

I would like to be featured please @curie
What does it entail please??

I write well, at least I know I do.

Maybe you could take a peek at my blog and judge for yourself.

Resteemit done dear..

Oh yay, @warpedpoetic! \o/

😂 just look at that bro! Am up on @curie author showcase. I am going to get a bottle and gurgle it, gaggle it and wash my face in it then get high on it.

wow.amazing@curie.. be sucsess always.
regard from me @muhammadabi

Thanks @curie.. you are the best community..

The good thing is that there are healers in Steemit, I am organizing an equal project in my country Venezuela, I already have a place to establish a Steemit school. I have students interested in learning to socialize and learn all the functions of Steemit. with the few that I joined Steemit, I have been raising the project ... when I have the project done I will open an account called@steemproject-venezuela, then delegate steempower and serve as curator for my community ..

These posts deserved a lot more success , thanks to @Curie team who put a lot of effort to find such underrated posts and encourage the authors for thier hardwork with up votes.
Its really encouraging for minnows like me to keep writing quality posts regularly.

Solid articles as always. You guys have a solid eye for this stuff. Keep it up!

Nothing to add. Good choices as always. More music in today! :)
Thank you! I'll have a look at all of them now! :)

There should be more teams like yours instead of bots. Any time I release a rather long article like I did two days ago, I feel internally somewhat reluctant to publish it because it is a shame if the Love and passion in remains unseen and unread. And I don't like using bots but there is almost no choice...

Ini adalah sesuatu yang hebat @curie. Dengan memperhatikan penulis akan memberi motivasi bagi semua orang untuk semangat dalam berkarya.

Wow..this is exceptionally great..
Nice work @curie
I enjoyed reading the article..it's smashing..
Thanks for steemit..
Looking forward to more posts like this from you...

good post :) its amazing, thanks for sharing @curie

I hope to be show cased in this someday as a good writer.

Good content.

Wow, a few great ones, thanks for introducing me, glad to see this kind of thing on steemit since it's usually so crypto related.

non mi stupisce trovarti qui @elenahornfilm
Complimenti! :)

good contents are indeed needed to be exposed. Thanks to all curators who help uplifts those who deserves. :)

Hi! I am hanmik, I am new in the steemit community. I just upvoted you.
Kindly do the same for me on my recent post.
Thanks
Here is the link to my recent post
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@hanmike/please-support-me-i-am-new

Hi @hanmike I feel I should tell you that asking for an upvote and leaving a link to your post, when you are doing so in the comments to someone else's post, is usually frowned on here and will often get you flagged. Good luck

These authors are like role models to me. Hope to be recognized like them one day.

I'm all with you huns :P

Stephen Parato ( @stephenparato ) is an incredible author, podcaster, and poet. He explores in so many different areas; spirituality, cryptocurrency, travel, life advice, and he is always starting some kind of new and epic project. Check him out!

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@stephenparato/why-all-belief-systems-are-wrong

These are some great picks! @curie Well deserved to all of them!

One day I expect you to discover me :)