You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Want to win 1000 SP of delegated power ? Tell me why!

in #curation7 years ago

I'm not really comfortable with having power I haven't earned on a platform I'm still becoming familiar with. But I ask if I can reserve this chance for the future. I am linked with many prominent peace, political and social change activists in Australia and around the world. I also know some people in politics and media around the world. Now I mainly work with refugee and asylum seeker activists. The big ones. I have many friends and some family who have had to make perilous trips to refugee camps in other countries. I work with the abandoned Afghan and Iraqi interpreters. I am the only real, and dedicated advocate for them in Australia. My husband is one. I have a vision for the future. I can see people in war torn, poverty stricken countries and situations being given an equal chance to earn financial security, on steemit, , which can literally save lives. I am just getting the feel of steemit and haven't wanted to share too much yet, for three reasons. First is the difficult situation my husband and I are in, makes it very hard to emotionally deal with ignorance and hateful comments. I have been doing it a long time, even had death threats from white supremacist groups, but I have to be careful on here to not release the menopausal c**t that sometimes loses her patience on social media.
Second is the security of the people I work with. I don't want to identify anyone in danger on a global platform, this includes my husband, and I learned how easily one slip can put you in danger. We relaxed about his security issues when we were in Delhi, in a poor suburb, (money is always tight in our situation) and next thing, the taliban knew where we were. I was in our flat, and I had a "visit" from someone trying to break the door down when my husband was out. His Father told him the taliban knew where he was. That was from mentioning where we were, generally, on facebook. Not 100% sure it was them, or someone working with them, at the door, but it was a wake up call. When someone has $40 000 price tag on their head you have to be constantly aware of everything you do on the internet.
Thirdly, I don't want to advertise this platform to some people that may follow me on facebook. We have already had to report someone that was an obvious terrorist that was following the page I run on facebook and it's hard to know exactly who is and isn't sometimes. My husband is good at identifying the security threats, or "the bad guys" but you can't always be sure. I know how to run a secure page and personal account of facebook, the feds are cool with it and I am in contact with national security agencies, but I'm still trying to see how the lack of regulations works on steemit in providing personal security.
I will link you to the page I run and you can see my main priority, and the reason I run the page, in the about sections. I'v been a bit neglectful the past few weeks, illness then focusing on steemit.
Once I am comfortable opening up this platform to the most needy, I would love the chance to give them a fighting start. And I am grateful for this opportunity to "come out of the closet" as an activist.
https://www.facebook.com/pg/Abandoned-Afghan-and-Iraqi-Interpreters-Left-To-Die-1148481715273739/about/?ref=page_internal

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1151636278291616&id=1148481715273739

Sort:  

I'm happy to support these causes when you're ready :) Feel free to reach out on steemit.chat or discord anytime

Really? I just got a bit teary. The offer of support means a lot to me. It doesn't come very often. Thank you so much.

As soon as I master using the chat thingies I will say hi.