The Plight of a Manual Curator (and apologies for lack there of the next few days)

in #curation7 years ago

Here's the thing. I still 100% manually curate from the SCG account. Voting on posts anywhere from 40 to 80 times within a 24 hour window. Many of which I read, some others I skim but all get my actual physical attention.

animal-17474_640.jpg
image source

Not the smartest avenue

I spend a good 2 hours a day on curation. Honestly, it's not the smartest most efficient play. Using steemvoter, streemian or a bot would probably be smart.

Eventually I will leverage these things, but I'm weird about loyalty I guess. It's like if I'm not physically doing it then it doesn't mean as much, which is kind of nonsensical in the end.

An upvote is an upvote and if I want to comment on the post I still can even after the bot does the voting.

But hey, you live you learn....you get better.

ball-and-chain-2624325_640.jpg
image source

Physical Presence - Plight of Manual Curation

Therein lies the issue with manual curation. If you are not online or able to spend time doing it than the curation does not get done.

So, with that said. I will be traveling most of the next two days and then again on the weekend so will likely be behind on some voting.

Those of you that I loyally follow, don't worry I'll play catch up when I return. Gotta love that 7 day window!

Or maybe I'll just finally leverage one of the voting services!

I may be too stubborn for that! :-)

Steemit_txtdvidr.png

Best Regards,
Scaredy Cat Guide Logo_SiteHeader3.jpg

Sort:  

I totally get where you're coming from. I still manually curate and you're right, I'm not sure it's very efficient. I've played around with steemvoter and streemian, but I feel like I loose control and I can't stand that. And, since HF 19, I still haven't figured out a strategy.

Yeah, that struggle of feeling like something else took control of it. I know that well, feels less "connected" then.

Right there with ya, Gringa

Manual Curation should be mandatory.
I believe using bots is an unfair advantage of the overly tech literate, and those who came to this with "pre-weath".
The rest of us struggle to follow the examples of those who came before, while the opportunities slowly dwindle.
We should do something to protest this unfair advantage!
I am recommending a "Million Minnow March" to stir things up and bring some attention to the issue.
When the other 999,999 of you get your shit together, let me know.
(Sorry, I am not good at driving, but I can jump on the bandwagon with the best of them.)
Remember, it's not that serious, man.
Be well.

I actually use steem votter.com (I added you there too) because it helps me to keep track of my best writers after which I check it and read their posts as am doing now. It really helped me a lot with time management.

I can't help but agree on the "manual Curation".. Something makes me feel better knowing that somebody read my blog, not just upvoted it. Maybe it's harder, but I think it's more honest..

Agreed, in the end. We have to do what feels right for each of us. There will always be pros and cons do any avenue :-)

I do the same with the MSP Waves acct, and i've started working on a bot to do it for me for a whitelisted set of people on specific tags, but never get time to finish setting it up, because, well, the tsunami of manual curation among other things I am focused on or forced to do each day.

Work smarter, not harder, except when you are working so hard it's making me dumb from exhaustion is not working out so well lol.

Yes, pretty much that last sentence. My current existence! ;-)

You make some good points here. I like steemvoter to make sure I don't miss posts by fav authors. But equally I still want to go back and see what the posted. For most of us, we just don't have time to get to everything.

Yes, Time is the issue. I do use steemvoter for my MJ account to vote on a few authors automatically, but do alot of curating there too!

good post! upvote

I love that you still do it all yourself. I always appreciate the auto vote, but often wonder how many actually read or skim my work.

Given my constant need of attention, I rather get less upvotes and more comments from my readers. If I really want an upvote I could just use a bot.

However, I understand everyone wants to support and spread the wealth. With that, have fun on your trip. Cannot wait to see what mug from Dunkin' Donuts you bring me. I don't have one from either places :D

Don't worry, I'll keep an eye on Florida for ya!

Oh man, you mean the next time I think I'm talking to you I'll be cracking jokes with a tin head. Say it ain't so Mr Scaredy.. ha ha