You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Want to win 1000 SP of delegated power ? Tell me why!

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

First things first, let me say you are doing an amazing thing, even if you think what you're doing is relatively small. You are giving people the opportunity to make a difference. So thank you for that.

I'll be direct here, I'm not the most qualified choice, nor do I produce any content of much value here. However, in my extremely short time on this platform so far, I have come to see the immense potential on steemit. I see this as a place where we can help expand each others minds and elevate each other financially outside of the rigid and controlled systems elsewhere on the internet. Rarely if ever do you find this many people coming together in one place that isn't controlled by a large corporation of some kind, that doesn't tie into a company's financial interests, that isn't heavily censored. I want to support this in any way I can, by upvoting, commenting on, and resteeming content that gives people something of value. People that share intriguing thoughts, great art, helpful information - or even just something funny that can give people a smile when they most need it. Right now, being as new as I am, I can't upvote for more than 2 cents, and me resteeming something does essentially nothing at 20 followers, but I am working on changing that and even put some (a rather tiny amount) directly into STEEM Power to speed up the process.

I think steemit has a problem with people trying to profit without supporting the community, when supporting each other is what I believe our goal here should be. Over and over again I see people with significant voting power comment that they love a post, only to NOT upvote the post, but upvote their own comment instead. I admit, on my first day here I fell into the trap of doing that myself, and I am not proud of it. I saw it everywhere and just assumed that was the way to go! I think it creates a toxic, greedy environment, and I want to do my best to combat it. This is supposed to be a supportive, kind, mind-opening and ultimately life-changing platform - I want to be an active part of that. i'll try to be supportive, kind, helpful and hopefully occasionally inspirational and motivational on here, and just generally try and use it for good.

Thank you for doing this, whoever you may ultimately choose.