First entry of CycloDad (not first day of training)

in #cycling2 years ago

Well, since I have been cycling for over 8 years now, and the winter is coming :D I am once again on my static indoor trainer doing some work.
As you can see from the image below, my so called "paincave" isn´t much to look at but it does the job. The bike on the left is my outdoor bike, the one behind me is my wives and the one I am on is my indoor only bike, and maybe for commuting sometimes.
paincave.jpg

In this image you can obviously see I am REALLY enjoying myself, having the time of my life. The picture itself was taken by my dear wife who is really happy when I sweat all over the hardwood floor(and stink up the place).

The app opened on my laptop is called TrainerRoad. When you sign up there is about 20$ monthly subscription and they tailor the program based on your needs, your wants and how much time you have. Since we have 2 kids, a boy of 4 and a girl of almost 2, I can manage about 5-6 hours of training a week.It is much more when the spring comes and the days are longer.
So, the app....
It measures the power you do and outlines it with the power you should be doing based on your own personal specifications. The most important one in this case is FTP (functional threshold power) which is the maximum power you could sustain for one hour. Mine is hanging about 250Watts which is about 1/3 of the power needed to make a toast in the toaster.
The graph after a finished workout looks like this :

tr.png

The warm-up, and the first 4 intervals went just fine. The last 2,those wicks you can see are me trying to hold on for dear life because my heart rate bumped up to 185BPM (the number so expertly circled on the right).My maximum HR is 193 so that brings me above 95% and I felt overcooked.
So todays workout is a fail (according to TrainerRoad) but I see this as an absolute win since I didn´t quit.
I will be continuing according to plan and work towards my goal of hitting that 300W FTP at the start of summer.
Talk to you soon and have a great weekend.

Sort:  

Hello, @disgustoid88! This is @anggreklestari from @OCD team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive Blockchain! Congratulations and welcome! However, it would be awesome if you do an introduction post. As a sample of what an intro post is, you can refer to this intro post for reference:

Keeping Up With the Buzz - My Introduction to the Hive Community

There's no specific format on how you do your intro post, but there is some suggested content that we would love to see in your post. Information like who are you and where you're from, how did you discover Hive or who invited you, what types of content you want to see here and the types that you want to produce, and what are your expectations in this platform. There's no pressure on this. You can choose whatever information you would like to share.

You can tag me @anggreklestari on your intro post then if you have done with it.


Well, you can explore the communities that are suitable for your content. You can read some of the communities in this post: OCD Communities Incubation Program

For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise.

If you have questions, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions. For now, @lovesniper will follow you and we are looking forward to your intro post!

The part that got me was your self awareness that it's a win when you get to the end of the cycling and not just about some pitfalls on the way. Applying that to life, there are some things that we are currently trying to achieve but we face a lot of challenges on the way. We need to understand the importance of pushing through difficulties to reach out goal end. I'm grateful I read through your piece @disgustoid88