Weekly Accountability #1: Defining My Own Success

in #cycling6 years ago (edited)

PathToSuccess.png


Let me start off by thanking @savetheanimals for inspiring me to start this #weeklyaccount in this post. It is motivating for me to see another cyclist push themselves to new heights. So I hope that by sharing my goals and my progress along with pitfalls will be encouraging to some of you. And I promise it won't all be cycling, after all I'm a human and can always grow in other areas.


Now lets get into it.

I plan to use this category #weeklyaccount to disclose my accomplishments and my falls in the past week. In order to do this effectively I will first define my version of success.

So what does success mean to me?



My Pillars To Success

  • Athletic Body
  • Warrior Mind
  • Loving Soul

Alright lets break these down a little bit because they can seem a bit vague. However I think you'll find that as with most things in life, simplicity is beautiful.


Athletic Body


Currently my goal for an athletic body is to complete Steens Mazama 1000 (A 1000 mile unsupported mixed terrain bike packing sprint over Oregon’s highest paved and unpaved roads). I have until July 6th at 8AM to train my body to be in peak performance.

This goal is going to require daily actions that move me forward on this path. Including eating a clean whole food plant based diet.

I chose this goal not only for the result at the finish line, but for the result of the rest of my life past that finish line. I know that once I accomplish this athletic journey that my body will be ready for whatever life has to throw at me.


Warrior Mind


Now I'm not talking about going to war with anyone. Rather with the warriors mindset you are able to see challenges and adversity as stepping stones to your success. After all nothing in life comes easy. And if you think that you're just entitled to have success then you need to think again my friend.

Hard work, discipline, trudging through pain, being uncomfortable. These are all part of the process!

Isn't that great!? Because the suffering WILL END. The night will come and you will drift off to sleep and become disconnected with the physical body for hours. But you don't have to wait to hit the pillow for the suffering to end.

If you have a reason to go through the suffering then you can enjoy the process of suffering. After all, without the suffering there is no end. No finish line to cross, no gold at the end of the tunnel.

So go through hell, so that you can come out the other side stronger!


Loving Soul


This one is tough for me. It requires consent adjustment, focus, and work. I could blame society, my childhood, or something else that's out of my control. Or I could just accept that this is something that requires work. After all, I know that the rewards are well worth it.

So there's a lot of work to be done in this category. Mainly stemming from wanting to become a better boyfriend. My girlfriend and I have been together for 5+ years now and I've started to become too comfortable. She has helped me overcome so much and always picked me back up. I owe it to her to be a better boyfriend today then I was yesterday.

I also would like to improve my relationships with friends and family. I'm quite a hermit these days, and I would like to reverse that.


This Weeks Action Plan

The Small Steps That Will Build My Pillars

Athletic Body

  • I will ride my bike 12+ hours this week
  • I will make my bike commute to work twice as long Thursday and Friday. From 7 miles (11.3km) to 14 miles (22.5km) one way.
  • I will stretch for 5 minutes every day this week.

Warrior Mind

  • I will meditate at least 5 minutes everyday this week.
  • I will end every warm shower with 1 minute of cold water.
  • I will listen to one podcast where I disagree with the guest. (and try not to rage)

Loving Soul

  • I will read 10 pages of 'The 5 Love Languages' (My GF already read it and I would like to read it so that I know how to make her feel loved).
  • I will write down 5 things that I am grateful for everyday this week.
  • I will have a 'date night' with my girlfriend this week. A nice home cooked meal with some quality board games :)

Now It's Your Turn!


I challenge you to define your success and figure out what weekly goals will help you achieve success! Use the tag 'weeklyaccount' and lets help build up our fellow steamians!

I'll be back next week to give a progress update!
If you have any suggestions on how I could improve these pillars of success please comment below!

Sort:  

Good luck man, I re-read that race name like 3 times. 1000 mile run. That's a serious goal and I wish you the best. Don't forget to rest up occasionally, the body needs recovery to implement all the hard training you put in.

Oh shoot! You just made me realize that I forgot to include that it's a bike packing race! Which makes it a little bit easier then a run!
Rest is definitely key. And that's something I'm constantly working on. Especially getting enough sleep every night!

Ahh, that's still a seriously tough distance. Keep at it.

I love the Gif choice 😂
Are you on Strava? I'd totally follow you on your training!

Thanks :D
I do, I love Strava!
https://www.strava.com/athletes/1324767

Awesome I gotcha on there, follow me back and check out the ride I'll be doing in the morning!

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Interesting way of putting goals. Maybe I will make a post like this as well to get some reflection going! although the cold shower part sounds painful. haha.

It's all mental. Well a few Wim Hoff breathes and then the rest is in the head. After a bit your body gets used to it. It's nice to have that other side of you take control and say 'NO I'm not staying comfortable! '
Start with 15 seconds at the end of your normal shower. Stay there for a week, then move up to 30 seconds.
It's really great for your cardiovascular system and makes you feel alive!!!