Meet My Chickens

in #dailychicken5 years ago

IMGP1610.JPG

Hi Nosey!

This is Nosey.

Nosey is a funny little chicken. She was hatched this summer so is around six months old, and she has been unusually friendly and a bit odd from the beginning.

You can guess how she got her name (my chickens only get named when they exhibit plumage or behaviour that distinguishes them, but then, quite a few of them do).

She runs up to me, routinely stands on my boots when I'm standing still, tugs on my buttons and zipper toggles and shoelaces, and gets all up in my way while the other chickens are getting out of my way. She also likes to perch at head level and supervise what I'm up to, whenever she can.

In other words, adorable. She's excessively curious. I've observed that curiosity is a prominent chicken trait - it must have been an adaptive trait for birds and many other creatures to survive, because it drives them to investigate and perhaps find new food sources. In my flock of chickens it seems to drive them mostly to find new dirt bath locations.

Nosey's beak is a tiny bit crossed. This is a genetic trait, and crossed beak can become so extreme that the chicken has trouble eating and drinking. I don't think it will become too extreme for her because she's already half grown.

IMGP1621.JPG

I made the mistake of trying to make a shoulder chicken out of her when she was nosing around sticking her beak entirely in my business once. I put her on my shoulder, where she was happy enough to stay. Less pleasantly, she promptly indulged the curiosity my eyelashes stimulated in her little chicken brain. Peck! I had a minor black eye for days.


I've been daily blogging about my flock of chickens, my bees, and my other farm-ette activities at my Happy Harvest farm blog (est. 2008) and I'm transitioning that blogging habit to Steemit now. Wordpress has become disappointing. I'm looking forward to finding my stride and voice with the new platform, yay!

Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! Not too sure that I can handle another Kind though ;) #justteasing

Guess I'm only one of a Kind now. :D

for someone that has been able to come up with Kind jokes his whole life, I find yours a little disappointing ;)

Thank you! I thought I was going to sneak into Steemit while I figure it out for a little bit, but I guess there's no subtle entrance:)

I think you'll prefer all the help you can get ;)

Welcome it is great to have another Kind on Steem. I remember Derek's chicken post well and would love to see that calendar! Looking forward to your fun stories!

Oh boy, he might have to cough up that calendar now:) It is actually out there already- you might notice HERE one thing is not like the other. The updated Chickens for 2019 calendar has both his and my poultry photographs.
And thank you!

I don't know if I can ever get over this discovery :D

Fun. I didn't know that @derekind had landscape calendars too. Thanks for the links, so fun.

I love these photos! Nosey is very beautiful :) thanks for sharing!

Thank you:) She's a funny little bird.

What is it with you people and your chickens? My daughter @andiekins is the same way. She just loves her chickens. I guess if I were living on a farm, I might feel the same way. They are pretty cute.
Ren

They grow on you. I didn't out start this way.

Thats what my daughter @andiekins says. She adores her chickens.

Welcome to Steemit! I followed your website to your narrating website. How cool! Are you kept pretty busy with that?

Oh, you're a rare breadcrumb follower! Yes, that's my job and income, and it's full steady. I could give it even more time, but I'm just not willing to give it 100% of my life. I absolutely love it, but I want to keep other things on the go too.

My parents had chickens for many years. I badly sliced a finger while cutting a roll of insulation to size when the coop was built. We had a couple shoulder chickens, and a few named hens, but most were nameless egg factories.

Our first rooster was a mean one. He would attack anyone who entered the coop or the yard, and eventually we got tired of his aggression and the need to boot him away repeatedly. I don't think he even had the decency to taste especially good after being baked though.

I have several nameless egg factories too, since I haven't bothered to memorize them by their combs:)

Lol:

 I don't think he even had the decency to taste especially good after being baked

Haha love the part about not tasting good...
When we started out, we ate a few roosters before we finally had one that was not aggressive. Now I suppose we have weeded out the 'mean' gene, since all our roosters are pretty laid back. They protect their girls, but not from us. ;)

Awesome chicken story! I like that you name your chickens not before they've showen their character. I will have to remember that for when we get them!

Well otherwise there's no intuitive way to remember them:)

Lol, very good point. I wish this world would ler us do that to our children too... we would probably have better fitting names 😁.

Yes, I've heard that was was a practice of some Native North American tribes (can't remember who), and children could reach the age of four without having a name land on them. But that came into conflict with colonizers and their birth certificate traditions. And I agree!

Chickens can be such goofy critters! When you think about it, they really look awkward, especially when they run. I am impressed that you have one with great personality. Most of ours have been averagely-stupid birds. We haven't had chickens for the past year, since my husband has been in poor health and unable to care for them. The chicken yard looks so lonely when it's empty! And I miss feeding all the good scraps to them. I never felt like I was wasting anything when we had chickens.

Aww, no chickens. You could keep worms to eat your scraps.

They are dinosaurs! And so funny when they run (lumber), with their wings airplaned out for balance. I've found just a huge difference (intelligence and chickenality) between the commodity chickens I bought from the store and the chickens that were raised from the egg here, and even crazier, compared to the chickens that grew up here raised by a mother that grew up here! It's like they remember to be birds.

I find that extremely interesting!

Congratulations @selka!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 2 with 24 comments

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on the Steem blockchain, consider to vote for my witness!

Welcome! I have always thought about having chickens, as pets though because I'm vegan, lol, but we live in too cold a climate and I wouldn't want to be heating a chicken coop in our cold weather which can hit -35 before windchill... btw, I'm in Canada too!

Fun first post :)

Thank you! Chickens are birds, and their wild kin spend winters outside, but chickens will get frostbitten combs and feet in that kind of cold. There are ways. Also there are hardier breeds. I move mine into the poly tunnel for the winter - no artificial heating. It's not that cold here so mine are very comfortable, laying and even brooding in all seasons, but a passive greenhouse would make a huge difference if you did get chickens.

Yes, doable for sure... but we are trying to downsize our "brood" in preparation for retirement, ... so, I am trying to cut down on all new additions, lol, but thank you for the suggestion!

Ah yes, less can be more:)

WELCOME TO STEEMIT, SIS! :D

So glad to see you switching to Steemit in 2019 - your stories will be appreciated here! And congratulations on the rather huge accomplishment of posting once a day over on Wordpress! I thought I was doing well to post a photo for 92 days straight...

Mesmerizing Glam chicken!

Thank you! I'm finally over here:) And your 92 days was incredible! Both the posting series and the 30 000 klick trip:)

Well, thanks! And I'm glad I was able to spend Christmas at your place at the end of it! :)

Ooh, I love her! I love personable chickens.

Yes! They have unique chickenalities:)

Oh, I didn't realize this was your first post! Welcome to steem!! How'd you know to jump right in with a #dailychicken? They're my favorite!

There's lots of homesteaders and permaculturists on steem. A few to start off with are @sagescrub (creator of Homesteaders Co-op and @homesteaderscoop), @riverflows (founder of @naturalmedicine and on a brief break from steem), @mountainjewel, @walkerland, @buckaroo, @goldenoakfarm, @craigcryptoking, @thetreeoflife, @mariannewest, @bghandmade, and many many more, but that's a quick start for you!

There's no formal messenger service on steem yet, but the Partiko app for iPhone and Android has an on-board encrypted messenger for folks that also use Partiko. Most steemians use discord though because of it's flexibility for use in community movements. If you get it, it helps to use the same screen name so folks can transition between the two. Also on discord, you'll find @ginabot, a really awesome steem notification service that I think almost everyone uses.

If you join discord, hop on over to the Natural Medicine and Global Homesteading Collective discord servers if they're relevant to you. Links to both are in the bottom of all my posts.

I hope you like it here, and I'm glad you've been able to get a bit of a delegation to help you get started. It's been hard for new users lately, but that delegation will help you not have to deal with that trouble for as long as you have it. If it gets revoked, let me know and I'll see if I can help some.

I saw others using the tag! Does that mean I have to post a chicken every day now though? I do have enough to last a while:)

THANK YOU SO MUCH for all that info. That will help me ease in:) I'm kind of overwhelmed by the welcome.

Not every single day, but when I post chickens, I usually use the tag. Mine are often biweekly chickens lol

It can be overwhelming for sure. There's a lot to learn on a new platform. Heck, I'm still getting the hang of it at times even after a year. The big thing to remember is that, while it started with just steemit the blogging platform, steem is a social media chain. Everyone loves the long form posts, and they do tend to earn more, but blurbs and pics are great too. No need to stress over making a big badass research post every time.

Regular posting matters a lot too. A couple times a day is awesome, but at least stop in a few times a week. We wanna hear from you :)

Ok, thank you. Yes, I already have the daily blogging habit (although I'm traveling today and tomorrow), so what you describe is pretty much exactly my plan. I've gotten away from the intermittent long form posts lately and want to get that back too.

Congratulations @selka! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @selka! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Shes adorable!! ♥

Also, welcome to Steemit! Your blog looks fantastic!! Cant wait to see more posts like this on here!

Thank you so much! So far I already prefer the platform for ease of posting intuitively, so I'm excited. More chickens coming soon:)

Awesome! :D

Congratulations @selka! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @selka! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You come highly recommended by @squishysquid so I had to come by and see what is for dinner next week, I guess it is fried chicken.

Mmmm you know you love fried chicken! ;)

I actually prefer them BBQ'd , but I won't turn down fried chicken either.

Well, that is one of my favorite things to do with an extra rooster or an old hen: throw her in the crock pot and cook low and slow. Shred the meat and add onions and BBQ sauce. Yum!