You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dash of Sult N Papper 05/22/20> Starting to sound like a guzbucking broken record… but someone has to do it.

in #dailydose4 years ago

First: I remember when the Indianapolis 500 was run on the 30th of May. Memorial Day. The Coca Cola 600 and Monaco F1 were run on the Sunday nearest Memorial Day in May. Now all three are run on the holiday that used to be known as Memorial Day.

I still feel that Memorial Day is important enough that it should have a date, not a Monday for a 3 day weekend.

Flag protocol. We've discussed this before and you know that 'outside the box' just plain pisses me off. Big pisses me off.

I have half a dozen places in the neighborhood to stop and 'chat' after the tennants come back for the winter. They've left their American Flags up while they aren't here. All but one of them is tattered. Unexcusable. I'm sure I'll piss every one of them off, but when I'm done they will know their responsibilities whether they respond or not.

Just way too many people have paid way too great a price for anyone from a neighbor to the POTUS to be cavalier with it.

I'm going to stop by just agreeing with your list. Jeeze.

Enjoy your day off, and maybe take a few minutes on next Saturday to remember. I will.

Sort:  

I'm glad you mentioned that about the 30th of May as being Memorial Day in years past. Just another example of how we've taken a special day and turned it into the convenience of a three day weekend. Thanks for jogging the memory on that.
Flags. There are way to many that are flown for decoration purpose rather than for patriotism and to show support of the country. We have a national Veterans cemetery here in Houston that the scouts each year put a small flag on each grave for Memorial Day. I heard that it isn't being done this year either as a result of the COVID virus.
Just way too many people have paid way too great a price for anyone from a neighbor to the POTUS to be cavalier with it., very true words Tom. Those neighbors might have $15 to $20 invested in it and the POTUS doesn't have a dime. Makes me wonder just what the value of those lives lost was is those neighbors and POTUS eyes?
I will enjoy the day off but I also will take the time on the 30th as well to remember. Thanks.