You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/16/20> Who would have thought that? Who would have thought I’d admit to that?

in #dailydose4 years ago

First things first: Happy Birthday to Shortie. I've been meaning to ask about her sales skills in the time of Covid. How did the cookie sales go? I know I didn't buy a single box because I never saw one...

I have two friends that actually make their living writing. One is very specialized into writing business reports for customers in the Boston Area. His father was a professor at BC in writing who actually was part of starting Scott's business. Bones spent two years at Cambridge in the course of his education that ended in a PHD and a wife from Ireland. He has his own side gig now, a byline in Rider Magazine.

The other actually is a contract writer for NASA. Writes technical reports that the scientists just aren't capable of. They do the research and he writes it up.

Our friend @shadowspub has recently published a post about her writing and it includes a review of software for writing that you might find interesting: https://peakd.com/writing/@shadowspub/polished-writing-can-t-be-rushed

I like your writing style, it's conversational. That is seriously important in blogging, and not so much use in business.

Sort:  

I will definitely pass those birthday wishes on to Shortie. I honestly don't know what her total number of boxes ended up being this year but their selling season started the first week of February and ended about the middle of March when all the lock down stuff started happening. She is still asleep or I would ask her right now.
Sounds like you know some really well qualified and properly educated writers, and then there is me of course who helps ruin that average.
I'll go check out that link from @shadowspub , I've been know to do some serious polishing but mostly antique car trim or aluminum engine parts. She is in the publishing business so she most likely has a real good grasp on what software is available and how well it works. Thanks for link.
Yes, business writing and my style of writing are like oil and water, just never meant to be mixed together. Luckily I realize that and am taking steps to help me just in case the days of real face to face selling doesn't return to my industry.
Thanks for the support!
Sult