You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/16/20> Who would have thought that? Who would have thought I’d admit to that?

in #dailydose4 years ago

Happy Birthday, Shortie! It is awesome to be a teenager. I have not had any teenagers in my house for a long time, but I am looking forward to my grandchildren becoming teens. I hope the COVID doesn't put a crinkle in her birthday plans. BTW I enjoy your form of writing on the Dashes. It is like we were talking face to face. Business writing is another kettle of fish and can be a bit tricky to navigate. It depends a lot on who's interest you are trying to get.

Sort:  

We stayed up to midnight last night to welcome her teenage years in with a Happy Birthday singing. I don't know how long she stayed up after that but she hasn't poked her head out yet this morning. I'll pass those birthday wishes on when she does.

She wants to do the traditional dinner out for her birthday but other than that she really just wants "money" for her gifts. I thinks she has her eyes on something she wants to buy, but only after she gets her own bank account with a debit card.

I'm glad you enjoy my style of writing. The U of C professor says the number one rule in writing is know your audience, well that might be great advice but my intended audience hasn't even been born yet so that isn't quite possible for me.

I look at the Dash as being the kitchen table and the readers are just neighbors stopping by for coffee to shoot the bull and drink a few cups. When that intended audience arrives, if ever, they will be the kids playing on the floor just listening to the grown ups talk.

That's all I've ever intended with my blogging and thank you for confirming that it is working as intended. The only exception was the "Will Eat BBQ 4 U " monthly segments I did over on FIRED. Those were intended to let folks know where to get good BBQ if they ever found themselves in south Texas and hungry for BBQ.

The business writing is a challenge for me but one that I am up for tackling.

Thanks for the support. How are you doing? Thinks settled down any?
Sult

Things are not settling down and it looks like we are heading for more trouble. We now have government supporters setting up shop less than 30 feet from our front gate. We don't know what they are up to but I am sure it will not be good. More vigilance on our part is needed. Plan C is formulating to leave here as soon as this COVID allows us. The hang-up is leaving first and then finding a place that we can settle without too retrictions...sigh

Damn, that isn't good. We've continued to keep ya'll in our prayers but we might need to step those prayers up a bit it sound like. Why anyone would support that government is beyond my comprehension, it just boggles the mind.