You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dash of Sult N Papper 03/27/2023>

Good to hear from you, I always learn something from your posts. I had no idea our flag was actually a battle flag. It's hard to believe how many things are going wrong in the world right now. There's this underlying layer of chaos, extremism, and negativity on a global level that I've never seen before in my (nearly) 52 years. If we don't find a way to derail it then I fear for not only the freedom of humanity but also our very existence. I struggle to figure out how we do that. I can think of no better use of prayers but it would also require action. The best prayer I could imagine is that humanity "wakes up" to the fact that history, as we know it, is almost completely false and the entire system is rigged. I see people waking up here and there but not on a scale that could make a real difference.

Speaking of prayers...I whole-heartedly believe in the power them. I've witnessed it many times in my life. You have to believe it's going to work, the faith is the key. The corvette is a beauty! Those always seemed so exotic when I was growing up. My brother and I dreamed of owning one.

I ran across this car the other day. It's a Corvair concept that never made it to production (here's a link to an article about it.)

The only corvair I remember is the rear-engine one from the 60's. This concept reminds me of the 'vette from the front but the rear reminds me of an old Porsche. What a beautiful car. I guess none of them were ever issued VINs so even if any survived they couldn't be sold or driven.

I hope you'd the family are well! Take care my friend.

Sort:  

Eric thanks for the read, reply and continued friendship and support.
Humanity as a whole across this planet is waking up to the fact that governments are organized criminals doing nothing more than lining their pockets and screwing the common man. We are not very far away from some major changes coming ; just look at France these last few days.
As for the USA ; we have people who rely to heavily on government hand outs but even those people are starting to realize that "things aren't right" but I'm not certain that we'll see the massive protests like France is having right now unless the govt stops the hand outs.
The peace time flag of the United States came about back in 1799 and was mainly flown on US merchant ships to distinguish them from being part of the navy. Then some stores started flying the peace time flag as well to signify that the stores were operating under the common law and were not controlled by the military. By the early 1920's the flag pretty much disappeared since WW1 had such a devestating effect on the country & the world. Our history books won't mention it , out of sight - out of mind, and we have been at war damn near continuosly since then so ..... no need for a peace time flag.
That Corvair you showed the picture of is beautiful.... why on earth they didn't produce it is beyond me. That does incorporate the best of the early Corvette and the old Porsche. I had never seen even a picture of it until your reply.
It is really sad that cars have lost all style and personality ; with the use of computers to design now a person would think that would be the easiest thing to do. I had a neighbor back when I was a teenager who had an Opal Kadett from the early 1960's and he did a lot a fiberglass work to it ... from memory it kind of reminds me of that Corvair picture.... I wonder if he had seen the picture of that Corvair prototype?
I will surely check out that link to the story.
The family is doing well and I hope the same can be said for you and yours.
We did get the Corvette started last weekend and moving under its own power so that is really good.
Still plenty of work to do on it... but the engine and drive train worked perfectly.
The car only has 45,000 original miles and has never been wrecked. I will do a blog on it when we finally get it back on the road.
Take care and keep praying,
Sult

You're welcome! I have seen the riots in France. The French, in some ways, have it right. It's well established there that the government works for the people and not vice versa. They don't hesitate to hold their elected officials accountable if they make decisions that go against the wellbeing of the people. We've lost this philosophy here in the US along the way.

I'm going to have to look up that peacetime flag. I'm curious what it looks like. I'm afraid they're about to get us into the war to end all wars. It feels like a runaway train straight to WWIII and most people seem too distracted to care or paralyzed by fear. If this was the 1960's protestors would be taking over the streets. Rumor has it that China may start (openly) providing weapons to Russia.

I feel the same way about the Corvair. The back end of it did remind me of the Porsches of that era. Those are some of the most beautiful cars there are. I would choose the Corvair over the 50's Corvette. In the article they said they were very underpowered though.

There's nothing better than getting a vehicle like that running. You definitely appreciate it more if you have logged some hours working on it. It's going to be a fun summer for you, my friend! It sounds like you've found a gem worth waiting for.