You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/15/20> Hive Saturday Giveaway plus a couple of questions I’d like answered…

in #dailydose4 years ago

@isabelpena the pet named Mr. Waddlesworth was named by my girls along with the other three ducklings he came with back in the beginning of March this year. The wanted him to have a "distinguished" name so they gave him a British sounding name.
I only eat eggs fried so boiled eggs are out for me. So the chances are I wouldn't notice a little tinge a green color .
That video on Hallacas did show how to eat them as well, but good that mention it about the leaves because I did say "all of it" but meant just the inside of the hallacas and not the leaves.
Each Saturday I give away one HIVE to at least three people and I do my "housekeeping" which is stuff I might have screwed up during the week or just random stuff that wouldn't make for a dedicated Dash. It's like having a junk drawer to throw stuff in and then each week I take a look in there and tell what I collected that week.
Thanks for dropping by and that is a really cute picture of the duckling and the eggs. Was that some of your own ducks and eggs that you hatched?
Sult

Sort:  

I hope I didn't offend you with your pet's name, I looked up the Spanish translation but it doesn't have one. But I found that it is the name of a dog from 102 Dalmatians, a Disney movie and in Gravity Fall it is the name of Mabel's pet, it is a little pig. When you eat Hallacas you will eat it all because they have an unbeatable taste. Yes, my friend Sult, that's one of the litters that mommy was able to get out of here on the farm and they are like my children.

monito, patos steemit, antena, fotos viejas y mas 034.jpg

They're always at the door of the house.

...pet's name, I looked up the Spanish translation but it doesn't have one...

@isabelpena ~ The pet's name was one they made, not a common name, which is why it didn't register in your translator. 🙂

When a duck walks, its tail wiggles back-and-forth. In English, we call that walk a "waddle."

Some names in English end with -worth, which came from an Old English (centuries ago) word meaning "settlement." So, someone with the surname "Wentworth" came from the village or settlement of Went. Sometimes in English, we add the "-worth" to names we imagine, to give them a "high society" sound, for fun.

So, the duck "waddles" (wiggles when he walks) plus "worth" made a good name for a duck! I think it is very clever and cute! 😁

Ah, well, that's very clever, of course. Thanks for the clarification. The difference in languages often does not make us understand although I strive to know why, are things of each country. I'm glad you explained it to me @thekittygirlOh

No offense what so ever Isabel in asking the name. My girls watched a lot of Disney so it wouldn't surprise me if that wasn't where they got the name.
That is quite the flock of ducks you have, some good looking group as well.
If ever there is any question you have feel free to ask it, don't hesitate and never worry about offending me. I am a big believer in free speech and will defend anyone's right to exercise that free speech.
The main thing that we all need to keep in mind no matter where we live or what religion we might be is that we are all just people. People that have similar desires, and traditions as well, that just want to live free and get along in life. Governments are the instigators of ill will and seek to change people to their way of thinking in my opinion.
Have a great weekend,
Sult

Thank you friend @sultnpapper same to you.