Concr.eat Foods 006: Nasi Kerablue!!

So Chinese New Year Holidays is as good as gone, and I'm stranded smack in the middle of a Monday Blue. Ever had a long holiday and when you get back to reality. Everything else just doesn't taste the same anymore? The food doesn't taste the same, your bed feels different. The air smells different. Monday Blues got me wishing my rice was blue!

Yes that's right. One of the few moments I wish my rice was blue!

IMG_20180213_134226.jpg

Throwing back to when I was too busy to post anything during my holiday in Sabah. I was brought to this heavenly place!

Turmeric Cafe & Restaurant Sabah

Formerly known as Uncle Gary. This beautiful restaurant can be found tucked nicely beside a mini golf course on the 2nd floor. Fancy a meal after a rewarding session of golf? Turmeric Cafe fits the spot nicely!

IMG_20180213_141743(2).jpg

I was introduced to this restaurant by a special friend to have a special meal!
The atmosphere was simplistically therapeutic. Fine jazz music, spacious ambience. It was the perfect meal for two!

IMG_20180213_133901.jpg

This dish commonly known as "Nasi Kerabu." (Yes the title is a pun) is a common Malay rice dish. The malays call it "nasi ulam" where the rice is cooked with with butterfly-pea flower, or locally known as "kembang telang". It's a kind of turmeric! I guess that's where the name of the Cafe came from.

Turmeric (Te-Merik) a bright yellow aromatic powder obtained from the rhizome of a plant of the ginger family, used for flavouring and colouring in Asian cooking and formerly as a fabric dye.

Add in a few Malay favorite sides such as crackers, pickles, chicken and voila!

I had the bigger appetite so naturally I had the bigger dish which was only for RM18. For the price it comes with a drink and mini desserts. Pretty worth it if you ask me! The smaller fish plate costs around RM12. I'd say I had the better end of the deal hehe.

IMG_20180213_133843.jpg

The better end of the deal

The taste?

It tastes as good as it looks! The rice is not that different compared to normal rice but it was slightly more chewy and has a bit of an aromatic taste. Couple that with crispy chicken and a bit of a seasoned pickles on the side. Mix it with plain crackers a bit of mixed herb and coconut dressing and you have a pretty explosive taste when merged together!

The desert was a mini rice cake mixed with kaya spreading. My only qualm is that it's too small :( I wish they gave me a bigger bite size!

I'd highly recommend you to come, bring your family, your friends, your dog your cat! I just had such a great time here! I'm sure you would too! I hope this review does this justice!

Mr. Topui is not featured today in this series because he did not join me back to my relaxing vacay in Sabah! But goes to show, I have friends who know how to live life man! Guess I don't need Mr. Topui to bring me around for good food hah! But now that I'm back in Penang... I'm kidding. anyone fancy a meal together with us? It's time to get back to a food hunting adventure soon!

IMG_20180213_133821.jpg

Would you have this meal?



steem-music

cws.gif

cws.gif

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:28:56
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 23.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks soooo gooooooood
The purple drink is very tempting :p

It's so pretty isn't it! Unfortunately it's just syrup haha!

Tumeric Cafe! Good food at a good place. From Penang should try drive over to Terengganu one day to try their nasi kerabu, one of the best I've had last time!

Ahh! Will definitely give it a shot someday :)

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Wooww, the food looks delicious

It does, doesn't it :)

Wow! Cool place... and the foods 😍😍😍

It is! Thanks for visiting :)

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Hey, this is mouthwatering. Is the rice usually has some butterfly-pea flower flavour in it?I remember i had something similar but rice was plain white rice.

Bt the way, you've been nominated at qurator, go there and officially declare your participation.

Not so much butterfly flower flavour, but more so aromatic rice. A kind of fresh taste :)

Yea, if you have the time it would be great if you could pop an upvote for my qurator entry too! Thanks for visiting!

My mom loves making blue coloured rice. It helps to make her grandchildren excited to eat them. Hehehe.

Thanks for sharing.
Cheers

The color does make the food look more appealing! Thanks for visiting :)

Exactly.

Wooo Uncle Gary! xD Liked that place toooo!