Computers obviously were much better before then they are today! ;)

in #database7 years ago (edited)

Back in 1984, sending an "e-mail" was super-easy, and if you wanted to print it out that was even easier. Life sure has become more complicated over the years with all these tons of migs and megs cluttering up all kinds of systems across the world, so it sure was refreshing to stumble upon this peace of jewelry on the Interwebs this morning. Enjoy :)

ReSteem & Tweet

Electronic yours

@fyrstikken

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Oh thats interesting to watch they first connect a telephone with pc and then dial some number , ask password, their you go in world of internet. Really pretty simple . Thanks @fyrstikken for sharing that, because most of us here think internet comes after 1990

This goes back before I even started using computers and I'm pretty old. I grew up as a Cobol programmer in the 80's.

Reminds me of:

Exactly, I work at a digital marketing agency and we actually use print marketing just because there is so much noise with email nowadays,

Roles reversed!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Back in the days you had that excitement from using a computer, not to say you had to go to the local computer coffee shop to use one. The good old days :).
Well time changes and we change with it.
Much love.
-Goldie

@fyrstikken I love that video! It´s so true.

At the age of 8 I blew up my grandmothers TV with my Sinclair ZX81 computer playing 1K Chess until 1am! She was very ill tempered afterwards!! Steem on! fyrs!

That was my first "computer", costed back then something like half a month's paychecque, and you could not even fill the TV screen, because that 1K could not hold that many pixels :-)

Ha ha! The brainless 1K computer! The TV must have laughed at its puny effort :)

Things are made with a limited life span these days and are ever more complicated. Corporations relies on us to buy their new products every 2 years or so to keep the profit rolling in. It is planned obsolescence.

fyrstikken,

Hello. Great article.

Have you ever heard about one of the first IBM that repaired its self? They pulled it from the market ASAP. In fact, only two executives knew about ti until a freaky youtube came out with a time traveler named John Titor.

Check it out because this is what made people investigate. It was all true about this IBM. Johns story may - or - may not be true.

https://www.google.es/search?q=ibm+4500+that+reapided+itself&oq=ibm+4500+that+reapided+itself&aqs=chrome..69i57j69i59.7575j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#q=john+titor&tbm=vid

@watchout2017

Domi
upvote

Boy, I sure do miss the old days! Click clacking away on my Commodore 64, I was master of the world. There was that memorable day I upgraded my modems from 300 to 1200 baud, it was like going to full speed on the Enterprise. "Warp speed Mr. Sulu!"

And email, I don't read it much these days. It's mostly junk. Now, it's more like in your cartoon; the raw feeling of animal excitement as my heart rate accelerates at seeing a snail mail in my mailbox. Savoring that visceral experience of tearing off the flap of the envelope and revealing the mysteries of its contents. It's like ripping off the bodice of a woman and having great sex.

Thanks so much, @fyrstikken, for bringing back such wonderful memories of those glorious, halcyon days of computer bliss.

I remember going to a computer show where they were selling one of those BBC Micro B with with twin 800 Kilobyte drives (yes not megabyte) for £3000 !

Top marks! Excellent animated GIF @fproductions! :)

I love this old computerdocumentaries. It makes me really nostalgic. Also great that you picked 1984 ;)

The good old days, I almost regret this time. Thank you for the nostalgia, spend a pleasant day

I need to try to remember to show this to the sprogs in the morning XD

In the meantime I kind of got stuck on the password looking like it was 12345 XP

He call it extremely simple to use, Lol... how do you call our computer sitting in our pocket? smartphones? extremely super duper hyperactive outstanding simple! hahah resteem this post!

 7 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

ahahha you are funny dude!!! Would like to use some computer of the "black projects" ;P

So true - your a legend my friend.

SWEET MOTHER OF GOD! This is the finest thing I have seen today. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

@fyrstikken this rules thanks for the like!
STEEM ON

Hi, @fyrstikken!
Will you return to the Voice? I feel not good without you...

I started using them when having a 1.44 MB floppy disk was the biggest thing ever in the 90s.

Say hello to my friend.
Dell Alienware M18x R2
image

i have it to

I do not think ;-/. that it is right

fyrstikken follow me and upvote mt posts

The first time I saw and used computer in 1986. It was a big professional computer whick took 2/3 room with perfocards and perforibbons for input/output.

it was a monster of USSR computer industry, but it could take integrals without any additional code or procedures: user just needed to put an integral sign before formula and it could calculate these automatically

It was MIR-2

Turning your computer in the 80's wasn't so easy, you'd get the black DOS screen, and you had papers to remember how to run your programs and where your files were.

DOS had a command named help and one was free to use readme.doc and txt files to minimize use of papers.

If this was actually 1984, there would be a 2-way telescreen and I'm pretty sure that person would only be allowed to wear the overalls of the Party.

Cool. I didnt know computers/email existed until year 2004.

When I got my first private IP address, there was no World Wide Web yet, just mail and newsgroups and stuff, and almost nothing commercial. Seems very quiet and peaceful in retrospect.

C:/DOS
C:/DOS/RUN
RUN/DOS/RUN

s/wrong window!

I can't wait for a time when computers are not just for the youngsters!

Absolutely mind blowing to see how far technology has come but also how complicated it has gotten!

The good old time, 1984 I wrote letters and sent them with the dove.

Go jewel ggggg

I actually find the old computers a little boring to say the least, especially in 1984 not because i wasn't around back then lol but because they didn't have steemit :) !!

Thanks for sharing of this unique video!

Omg, I prefer watching Vitalik talking about Ethereum ATM. ^^

This shocks me :0
Upvoted!

it is interesting to me
thanks a lot!

i hear back then sending an email was a task in its self. I think it's easy sending an email now. I don't know from experience but that's what I heard

@fyrstikken great post amigo hope your well lets chat later on steamspeak

Intresting histroy A+

Good mood :) Great post. Thank you.
Thank you for what you are. For what you do for this platform and for the Voice. Just for the support of newbies. You stimulate the platform and its development.

Nice post @fyrstikken...A leap and development of great computerized technology, if we used to know meain type, then we introduced computerized technology without operating system then introduced the first computer operating system that is Graphic User Interface, now we have been spoiled with windows, linux and macintos

OH YES! I remember watching this on BBC! Was so hot back then. I guess we are all living the dream now, aren't we...

Since you mention golos in your profile description is there a post you can link to that will help me to get an account and buy some Golos or can I do that through an exchange? But I really want an account that I can Power Up like Steemit. I think Golos is going to be a great investment for non-Russo people like me.

if only i was a kid of 80s :(

@frystikken
And I have been thinking that I was one of the early birds for computers.
Bought my first one in 1997. Over $3,600 dollars. (US) With screen and printer.
The changes since then, to me are just amazing. I would not have even dreamed. And I have to think, "the best is yet to come."

Thank you for the youtube history lesson. Great find.

Francis

There are 3 pages
Pages