You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 300kg deadlift

in #deadlift6 years ago

Do you have any tips working with lowerback hernias? I've got 4 of them :D. I can workout tho altho I need to be very carefull with my lower back. I've just started squatting again after 10 years. 30KG max at the moment but I go as low as possible.

Is there a exercise prior to deadlifting to strenghten the back a bit more? I`m more of a technique guy so heavy weights is not my priority.

Sort:  

Hey korpo

I assume you mean herniated discs in your back. Check out the reverse hyper, it's a great machine for active decompression of your discs. It strengthens the lower back without putting pressure on the discs. Most powerlifting and crossfit gyms have one, commercial gyms are also starting to pick it up.

Core work is also important, I use the ab wheel once a week. Remember to try and round your lower back and suck your stomach in throughout the movement. Do not arch. If you get pain in your lower back your doing it wrong.

I might upload a video of these if its interesting.

Thanks for the info! We dont have such a bench although i have a pretty big gym. I see the movement that is being made, should a lying leg curl also be an option? I think maybe not or does it?

Skip the lying leg curl. It has no real benefit and often causes one to over-arch the lower back.