Life is short...cliche...but sometimes. sadly, it is true

in #death7 years ago

IMG_9174.JPG
I saw my best friend from high school was calling on my cell...I was on phone with my Mother...our weekly catch up call...I tried to answer my friend's call, but I am so lame with my cell I couldn't get it quickly enough....so it went to voicemail. No worries, I thought, I'll call when done with Mom, but something was tugging at me. My pal didn't call often....we would get together every so often, but usually did the text thing to arrange it as we both keep our lives pretty full with all kinds of work and projects.

So, I got off quicker than normal with Mom. Checked my voicemail and there was a message....."call me, I have sad news". I thought, oh no, someone has died from high school. It's happened from time to time....it's been quite a few years since graduation, so it's happened. Always sad as these folks have been taken far too early.

So, I call....she answers....puts me on hold for a second....comes back....says "Joe passed away last night"....I froze....thinking Joe....Joe who....I knew of course her husband was Joe, but couldn't be....he is too young....she is too young...heck I am too young to know friends who have spouses who die...I cried out...."your husband????"....she says "yes" and we both just cry....and cry. She tells me what happened...although she doesn't really even know....came home and he had one leg out of the car in the opened garage...she thought he fell asleep....she called to him....kept asking him to wake up....he didn't respond....she is starting to get a pit in her stomach...she is starting to realize perhaps he is not asleep...so she calls the ambulance. They couldn't do anything. It was too late.

It all started out as a normal day...different plans during the day and meet back home for dinner...but it wasn't to be. I am sure she must be in shock....I am. Joe was not very old....in his 50's. A wonderful man. A great husband to my friend. A great father. He is gone too soon.

How do any of us just keep getting up and going when such a shock breaks you. I just keep thinking how I recently said to my pal....let's get together...I want to see you before I have to see you at another funeral. Life is short...it is a cliche....we really never know. More hugs and kisses to all! Thank you for listening Steemit pals....thank you.

Image: mine...inside a butter house in Bermuda...looking up...I just think it's nice

Sort:  

Amazing post.. There is no one else in the world that is like you. Honestly we are all unique and we all have much to show and much to strive for.
Cheers for the good post and much love from me..