My Brother Pulled The Trigger to End My Father's Life

in #death6 years ago (edited)

I had wished my father to die. Now it has come true.

More than being sad about his death is my relief that finally, he rested. As you all know my father has suffered from multiple organ complications ultimately leading him to his deathbed.

It was a month long of the family going in and out of the hospital, wishing that our father will be healed. But at the tail end, we all had lost hope and surrendered.

On February 11, his heartbeat is already half the normal. At that moment there was nothing we could do about it anymore, and all it took to reverse the condition of my father is a miracle. By then I had estimated that my father will only last two more days. However, I was wrong as it was prolonged to two days more.

The trigger to my father's last breathe, we believe, was pulled by my brother. It was a whisper.

Our mother told us about a superstition shared by her officemate that once a terminally ill patient is already opening his or her mouth, no longer having the ability to talk and waiting for death, a whisper from a close relative would do the trick of shortening the suffering and leading to death.

That is what my brother did as soon as my mother shared it to us at home.

Upon arriving at the hospital together with our sister on February 15 at around 9 PM, my brother talked to our father in a small voice, “’Pa, you can rest now. Do not wait for your sister from Canada to come home because her flight was moved to later. And also because we know you are tired. I will take charge for everything that is left in our family.”

I said a similar thing before. But I said it to my father aloud and in private, so my command to my father apparently did not work unlike my brother’s.

Only about 30 minutes after my brother did the whisper, the time for my father came. His pulse and heart stopped beating.

While it was an expected ending, it was still a moment of refusal to accept the reality.

As soon as I arrived at the hospital, I had seen my father lifeless in the same bed I guarded him in the past month. I was emotional at the sight of him already gone, of course.

But since I had already talked and cried in front of my father when he was alive, although unresponsive, the baggage I carried in my heart was lighter than most bereaved.

Typically I am not one who believes superstitions, but I guess this one is an exception. If I only knew about it earlier, when Papa started to talk silently but still listened, I should have done it too so he suffered much, much less and be safe with the Lord sooner.

-

Rest in peace, Papa. We will miss you. Your last wishes will be taken care of. 

Sort:  

Condolence to you and your family. May your father rest in peace. I feel what you feel because I also lost my father because of complications due to stroke and kidney failure.

My father suffered from multiple organ complications including kidneys. Condolences to you as well. God bless you.

Condolence to you and to your family.

God bless you!

Condolence to you and to the whole family. God will take care of it. .

Indeed, he is with the Lord now. God bless you.

Condolence to you and your family.

God bless you, David.

Condolence to you and also to your family @dioncrediblehulk. Your father may rest in peace.

God bless you.

May you and your family Be comforted. Your papa is resting in peace.

Yes he is. Thank you!

I feel the pain with you. My dad also suffered in the end. We all told him that we will be fine without him, and then he peacefully went. You wrote beautifully, and your heartfelt words touched my heart. May you find peace and rest, and only remember the best of times with your beloved Papa.

Our parents are worried about us until the end. For sure they do not want to leave this world knowing that their kids are not secured, hence their holding on until assured. And thank you!

I guess that was what my father did as well when my grandpa was dying

It's like an open secret now. I think it is best to do in when the condition is no longer reversible.

I agree.. my grndpa also asked to speak to all his grandchildren before he died... he ws 97 years old

Condolences to you and your family

God bless you.

I am so sorry to hear this! Condolence to you and your family! Stay strong and close to them in this hard time..

I am quite impressed by how you wrote this article.. This post is worth to resteem!

God bless you. Thanks.

When my mom was suffering in the hospital, I always prayed for her healing. God doesn't answer your prayers the way you wish them to be answered. He provided healing for my mother. The type of which is eternal, no more pain forever. It was bittersweet but it ended my mother's suffering.

It has been 6 years and I'm still hurting but I know she's in a better place now.

You and your family will be in my prayers. Here's sending my sincerest condolences. 🙏🙏🙏

No more pain forever indeed. Thank you.

You have been really brave these past few days and I could not be sorrier for your loss. It is a very difficult stage to overcome and I cannot begin to imagine how you must feel.

Do know that you have a virtual community to support you. And I urge you to talk out your feelings and thoughts to your most trusted support system. That is an immense experience to go through and I simply wish that you will be able to get through it at your own pace.

I hope your father will rest in peace.

The past few days have been easier for all of us knowing that my father is no longer suffering. Thanks, Aaron.

Everything was a blur while I was reading this. Condolence to you and your familly.

God bless you, Marian.

My Condolences to you and your family

God bless you.

condolence to you and your family....losing a love one is the most painful experienced in my life
for real!...the title of this post lead me to read until the end...