You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Russia Joins China in De-Dollarization Drive ~ Rich Sanchez … (Death of the Dollar–30) with Video

Even when the dollar drops in relation to the naira, the prices of many things in Nigeria might not fall. The local traders might explain the high prices by saying "Dollar NOT don high!"

Sort:  

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

"Dollar NOT don high!"
This is in no way the translation in pigin English.

If the local trader wants to still explain the high prices of things in their pigin language it would be either;

  • Dollar still dey high (Dola still dey high) or
  • Dollar never fall (Dola neva fall)

You really tried in your unique translation of pigin but if you speak this type of pigin to them they'll get confused 😂😂.

Thank you very much for your response. I really smiled seeing it.

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky.

Right. I did not think my pidgin language was correct. But I assumed I'd get the message across.
Thanks for clarifying. Being a teacher / editor / writer, I love language, even pidgins and creoles.

"Dola soon fall." (my pidgin) 😂

😂😂😂😂
Ohh. I understand why you tried so badly to make a sentence.

I didn't make much changes, so yeah, you're on the right track in speaking pigin😂😂

"No be say dola no go fall, but e go te small"😂😂

Meaning: It's not that dollar won't fall but it's going to take quite some time😂😂

Thank you very much for trying
❤️❤️❤️❤️
Co-teacher
Becky.

Clearly, a pidgin is virtually a separate, unique language. I can hardly understand any of those sentences.

😂😂😂😂😂
Are you serious???
I'm surprised though

Well since I understand it I don't expect everyone else to.

❤️❤️❤️
Becky

Since a pidgin is usually based on 2 or more other languages, and has its own grammar and vocab, it cannot be well understood by speakers of the original languages. In that sense, a pidgin is essentially a language unto itself.