Evicted - Moving day reflections -

in #debt6 years ago (edited)

So today is the day that I am officially "evicted" from my property, due to rent arrears spiralling out of control over a period of 4 years. I'm not exactly proud but don't get too teary eyed for the landlady. Over 4 years I've paid £20,000 of a possible £24,000, so I'm sure we will all survive the losses.

As mentioned in the video below, I have learned a lot from this experience and I promised to discuss a recent revelation. As you may all know by now, I have had meetings with the housing department of my local-council. My intentions has been to document to procedure and hope that I get lucky with the offer of a decent place to live. In the current housing climate I would say I have more chance of finding an honest MP, but still it has to be worth a punt, as you Yanks like to say.

Now one thing on offer from the council is the chance to apply for help with your "Bond". For those who don't know what a bond is, it is a an amount equal to one months rent that must be paid before you move in. As well as your bond it is customary to pay 2 months rent upfront on your first payment. All told, this amounts to around £2000, after the dreaded "Admin fees" are added. So you see, the councils offer to "vouch for you", as no money actually changes hands, to the tune of £450 is a great help.
All sounds good, yeah? Well, not exactly.... First off, these council bonds are a red flag to any Letting agent, so expect so funny responses when you finally mention it. Second issue, and has to be said it is the most important, is that when you accept the council's "bond scheme" you can only look to rent a property, with a monthly rent that DOES NOT exceed the bond itself.
Now the problem with this is that £450 per month will get me nothing more than a public toilet in Dundee, if I am lucky. I have asked if I am allowed to top-up this bond but apparently that is against the rules. I understand the meaning of this restriction but the bar is set way too low for someone like me. This could have been a nice bit of help but now appears to be just another shackle. I need somewhere better than a Highland Bog, so this scheme wont be for me.

I'm just thankful for having a good Mum who is there for me when the time comes. And it appears that time has come as it's the 20th and it looks like my time here is done....

bannerart.jpg

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about your plight...I thought it had all been worked out many posts ago.

I've been in the same position many years ago; stressful, but made it through brother.

Thanks buddy, it is a tricky one but things will get better. Glad to hear you made it through the mire too :)

Yes, I made it through a few times. If it happens again, I'm going survival mode into the woods; probably where I belong anyway.

It seems sad to upvote something so gut wrenchingly bad of a situation, chin up bro, onward and upwards you go.

Thank you and hopefully it's up up and away :)

That's fantastic to hear, I am a sucker for happy endings, keep us posted bro.

We top up our rent, and we have the same as you have mentioned in this post. Our rent is £425 pcm which is cheap compared to other houses in the same area and we are in a 3 bedroom house with a massive garden and great neighbours. we fell lucky really.
Anyway the council pay £385pcm to us in the for of DD then we have to top up the rest to pay the remainder.
So I don't know why are council do that for us and not you.

I haven't finished my post yet as I am trying to get some more details about everything before posting.

hope your keeping well mate

chin up :D

steem to the moon

Hi buddy, hope you're well. Yes, you are right about the DD payments, that is ok to top up. It's only when you accept the offer of help with the bond, but I don't intend doing that, I will just top up like yourselves.
Thanks for the good wishes mate.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks bud and good to see you still steeming ;)