I invested in DeFi for the first time

in #defi3 years ago

Yah, a bit late off the gate, my defense is that when I did want to use uniswap in the past - and before the airdrop date - my metamask was stuck with like 8 transactions and wouldn't let me do anything even paying fees as high as $20. I wasn't motivated enough to just jump on another address to use it so missed out on the UNI drop and honestly never had much time to look into DeFi's in general with all the other things that were ongoing on Hive and needed my attention.

Lately I've been interested more and more in artists posting on NFTShowroom and on ETH platforms such as makers place and rarible. Been following more and more artists on Twitter and this is how I stumbled upon this new DeFi that I decided to put some money in.

Here's now where I'm going to take the time to let you know that this is not financial advice, yes I know I recently tweeted how I'm getting tired of people overusing the "this is not financial advice" constantly but trust me, I have no idea what I'm doing here.

All I saw was someone mentioning a new DeFi that somehow was planning on connecting NFT's with DeFi and considering the market was turning around with DeFi's leading the herd and NFT's for good reason getting a lot of attention lately I had to check this one out. Only thing I got to read before I decided to throw some Hive at it was "sold out in ~10mins with 900 eth hardcap" and that it was listed on uniswap just 30mins ago so let's yolo.

Like usual eth fees sucked ass.

image.png

Even with 4$ fees they kept failing on me, as price kept going higher and I missed my $20-25 entries I was like "fuck it", went on advanced and entered the tx fee manually 3x as high as I needed it to. Ended up paying 7% of the full investment in fees, good game eth. When I invest I tend to invest for a bit longer though so didn't mind it that much but these fees are not going to encourage me to invest more if there's more dips incoming. The chart has been quite fun already, though, I have to say. I got in at $27 and this is the action that's been happening since.

image.png

The pre-sale price was 0.03eth per nfy meaning about $10, so $27 is a bit high up there considering this is barely 2 days old but with all the hype and pumps going on right now I figured it might be worth the long game to get in now and forget about it for some time. Although I am planning to add my NFY and some ETH into the liquidity pool for staking when that is enabled (in 2 weeks or so I think).

So if you're interested to read a bit more on it and maybe throw some money you can afford to lose at it if you like the idea or think it's unique enough to get somewhere, here's the website which I have to say you have to love the looks of 🤣: https://nfy.finance/

image.png

Some more info:
There'll only be 100k tokens in total (I think), 30k were sold in the pre-sale. Some of it will be locked here and there, some added to liquidity and some used to buy back NFY. Honestly you better DYOR cause I don't have much more time to get into it.

Figured a good time to diversify a little at least into DeFi and why not get into something new, fresh and sort of a unique idea that could evolve into something nice. The dev is not anon and seems to have a good reputation from the past, volume has been really high since the uniswap listing, after 24h it will surely get in the top20 of tokens on uniswap from volume alone.

Might be worth a dice roll, make your own decision. I'm planning on using most profits to just buy back more Hive in the near future so if you happen to make some profit off of this then that's great.

Link to their Discord

Good luck, don't go full degen! 😋

Keep an eye out on some good dips due to low liquidity if you planning on placing something into this and watch out for the 24h token page update on uniswap if that gets it more attention and a pump~


Sort:  

Hmm, sounds like a good idea. Maybe I'll throw some Hive in as well, guess I bought enough GU cards for now^^

GG yesterday, btw, was a fun one.

yup gg, great matches. I still didn't come up with a tournament idea for ocdb, and it bothers me a lot. welcome tournament is a thing now, but i can imagine how much work it will be, and I dont have that much time rn. I wish this could be done easier, e.g. trackable matches and a whole tournament tree structure.

:D

I'm waiting for alts to go up a bit before s1 is fully sold - hopefully they go up enough to overcome the first week discount and make it worth the wait. Good thing they're based on USD this time around.

Got lucky with any pulls?

Hmm, I got some legendaries and some shiny ones, but nothing really valuable I think. But considering I mostly bought rare packs I am quite happy with the result.

That's interesting. I forgot how much... but you have to have a lot of Eth to stake (once they get that rolling) if i remember correctly. I hope this works out for you man. How's that Atari treating you these days? PitFall or Kaboom?

It's weird man, seems so inactive and dead but who knows once it's done pre-selling and starts entering markets, if it makes it that far. Like we talked, the name alone should get it some nice profits, as with this one I mainly plan on taking initial investment back and riding the profits forever if I can. lol

I think that is a smart move, riding the profits. I am sure Atari will do well for a while if they do what they said they plan to. I was impressed with how much infrastructure they already had in the pre-sale stage.

My worst crypto venture (so far) was in Kyber. You could stake Kyber and get rewards in Eth if you vote in the epochs. Staking... gas fee. Voting.... gas fee. Claiming your reward... gas fee. Gas Fee.... much greater than your reward. I did the math but you have to have a rich man's stack to be in the plus... and it has gone from $1.60ish to Can barely break a dollar. Defi apparently isn't all sunshine and rainbows... ahhahaha

I was a launch partner with Maker's Place... and i don't think i want to use them simply because of the gas fees. I am glad all the things i minted there were back in the early days. I was going to wait for after the Fork to get really going on NFT Showroom. But... perhaps i shouldn't with the changing schedule. I feel like if most of the other spots and their artists realize how well Hive works for the process... it's a no brainer.

Hope the move is going well and sorry for the book here.

Oh yeah DeFi's are such a gamble atm unless you spend a lot of time researching. This one I mentioned here could easily go to 0 at any point, lol. 2 of them got rekt just yesterday with their founders or something just dumping all their bags.

lol no worries, finally settled in now so will have more time for Hive, to shitpost and read longass novel comments. XD

DeFi: how to invest in something and lose almost half of the investment in fees

I’m missing out on a fair amount for the hype of DeFi but I refuse to pay those ridiculous gas fees, lol. Glad you’re investing in it though, it could be beneficial considering the price action it’s got right now.

I thought you were using a Windows 98 computer for a minute, or is that vista? I can’t keep some of those older looks straight but that’s why i clicked on the post here, thinking you had an ancient computer for some reason lol

Think it's 98 yeah, nostalgic website.

For what it’s worth, I literally yesterday tried my first Tron DeFi transaction. Quick and low fee costs. Now I use uniswap mainly and feel more comfortable with the status of your funds in the long run there. But checkout justswap.io and maybe start with some small $ values.

Pretty cool I have to agree however those fees suck!!! Wow. Yeah main issue for me trading is the outrageous fee system. Might as well just hand these exchanges your total balance.

Let me know when a real exchange comes out that doesn't hammer everyone with massive fees.

I'm thinking of getting more involved in Binance Chain DeFi's soon mainly due to the fees not being an issue there.

Right on I'll definitely keep that in my head for when the time comes

Dude, Windows XP is about as safe as sending me your private keys. In fact, the latter may actually be safer.

lol, it's just the background they using on their website. :P

Should consider checking out Shroom Finance, they plan to launch a DEFI protocol for in-game assets / NFTs.

https://twitter.com/shroomfinance?s=21

Interesting, will check it out, thanks!

you not so late to join defi i also have join uniswap airdrop

Congratulations @acidyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 990000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Visit my blog hive brother

damn those eth fees. Basically the only reason eth has a minus in my opinion

I'm still missing out on uniswap.
I only heard about hit recently.

!tangent


Congratulations, @asimo You Successfully Trended The Post Shared By @acidyo.
You Utilized 2/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 0.200 HIVE


Congratulations @acidyo, You Earned 1.56 TAN & Curators Made 1.56 TAN.

upme.link


Join CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel or Join UPMELINK Web Site
TAN Current Market Price : 0.200 HIVE