You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Interoperability Between Different Block Chains, Moving Forward as the Age of Mass Adoption Begins to Materialize

in #defi3 years ago

Is interoperability a thing that Justin Sun used in connecting the Steem and Tron blockchains together or am I grasping at straws?


I'm trying to find a reference point in trying to understand side-chains and anything related to connecting blockchains with other blockchains.


Does Bitcoin, Ethereum or other cryptocurrencies use interoperability in any of the projects or networks which may be built on top of them? Maybe my questions are too generic, vague, or too silly in some ways.

Sort:  

Nope. You've certainly got the right idea. Interoperability metric is measured by how easily 2 different blockchains can communicate or pass operations to eachother.

A side chain exists generally as an addition to functions of the main blockchain. Some sidechains have their own token/coin where others like the one I'm building rely solely on their parent chains native coin to operate.

The HSC will have a TON of tokens on it in time I think and people migrate their HE, BnB and ETH tokens over to the ERC-20 compliant HSC chain. The whole "Atomic swap" think you hear about on Ethereum is a buzzword they are using to explain interoperability at the moment.

Think of it as sort of a gateway into allowing 2 blockchains (or multiple) that speak different languages and have different code and tokens to be able to swap all of these elements back and fourth. That is at it's core what Interoperability is, creating systems that are blockchain agnostic and allow for all sorts of different blockchain offerings to be utilized or accepted by it.

Is it like a decentralized version of a cryptocurrency exchange website like Bittrex and/or can it be used for trading crypto in part? I think the answer is yes as you say, the ability to swap code and tokens. I think all of this is very cool.

Something like that could be easily built on top of the HSC, yes.
A better example would be UniSwap decentralized exchange as I think Bittrex is centralized.

The whole side chain will be programmable, that is where the appeal to me personally is, being able to build stuff that other chains have that we couldn't before due to not supporting secure decentralized computing and ledgers.

It'll change everything around here and to a greater extent the crypto ecosystem as a whole.. Anyone will be able to interface with HIVE given they've chosen to build out their own chains in a format that is supported by HSC then to HIVE.

Did Dlive leave Steem and go to Lino (related to Tron I think) because of limitations Steem had relating to connecting different blockchains together?


Not to say Steem didn't have limitations, not to say Hive isn't making progress, but I think the answer is Dlive left possibly for silly reasons, probably a variety of reasons, I forget the excuses Dlive gave, but I say that to say many of the Hive projects are moving in the right direction overall.


I'm not really a fan of centralized networks like Bittrex, Poloniex, etc, my accounts were disabled, I was not able to get my Bitcoin or other coins out, I don't like the idea of suddenly being locked out without warning kind of thing, at least one month warning in advance would at least be better.

No idea about Dlive. I try to stick to myself and not get involved with everyone's drama unless need be.

Ecosystem is maturing enough that the developers on here have had time to learn the workings of the base software and are expanding on it.. Pretty neat stuff really.

Yep, fuck centralized exchanges.. Terrible idea. Ideally no one ever gets locked out.

Awesome. Agreed.