Sologamy and Self-Marriage

in #discussion7 years ago (edited)

Sologamy is the official word for self-marriage


 Yes! Sologamy is a thing now!

It's a marriage of a person to oneself, basically a commitment of valuing yourself, self love and self compassion. I am not sure if it's legal or not but people who are in support of this, state that it's a way to lead a happy life by not depending on anyone but yourself. The person can get into a relationship or spend life with another partner wihtout marriage but will always value his/her ownself above all. Well sounds just right to stay happy, does it?

The culture is not quite popular yet but is being adopted by quite a few day by day, I saw books written on Sologamy as well. A person decides to marry themself if they don't find love for a cerainer time.


Personally, I think it's never too late to fall in love and there's no limit to how many times you can fall in love. It's good to value yourself above all but marrying yourself is not a thing for me.

'Just because you took longer than others, doesn't mean you failed '

Today I read this quote while listening to Ed sheeran's perfect, I was all in that light mood when I realized I haven't fallen in love yet, I haven't found anyone with whom I can spend my life with and I'm 24 already, but that's okay, right? I don't really have to rush things, I will wait for the right guy. This does not mean that I'm unhappy, I'm happy and living my life to the fullest but Sologamy is not an option for me.

What do you think, is Sologamy something you believe in or would follow? 

Sort:  

This post has received a 14.71 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @beingnaveed. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

So, then if you are with someone, who are you cheating? I wonder what would divorce look like :)

Well they can date other people but will not get married to any other person, there's no 'divorce' part here :p

This post has received a 0.32 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @palwashabhatti.