You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hold my beer: Walmart subwoofer build

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

I'm glad this post was resteemed by helpiecake, I probably wouldn't have seen it otherwise.
It sounds like this turned out to be a good first project! Subwoofers can be a bit tricky to build, you never know quite how they're going to react in the box, even when you build it to "optimum" size, because the speaker parameters aren't always what they're advertised to be.
P.S. I didn't realize this is only your second post on the blockchain, you should consider posting more often.
I recently put together a set of horn tweeters for my sound system due to a lack of upper frequency response. I made temporary boxes for them until I can work outside to make better boxes. I wrote a couple of posts about them, in case you're interested in checking them out.
I think I need to get one of those DATS speaker measuring device for building woofer cabinets for a couple of 12 inch speakers that I have no boxes for right now.

Sort:  

DATS is really great I'd highly recommend it. One click of a button and you get most T/S parameters for free. No messing around with building a jig and hooking it up to your sound card. It doesn't get easier than DATS. The only tricky thing is getting Vas and Mms. You either need to attach a precise mass to the woofer, or use a test box with known Vb. But well worth it for the predictable results.

Will post more - I bought two walmart subs, just built a ported sub using the other one. It's hilarious. Has two port tubes and they stick out the top of the sub. Will test it, write a post. Although it'll be much smaller since fewer mistakes were made :D

I'll definitely check out your posts! Always been curious about horns.

The ported subwoofer box should be quite interesting!
I don't think it matters if the port length is in the box or outside the box, as long as it's the right length.