House restoration #2. Establishing base of operations.

in #diy4 years ago

Although the initial goal was to do as much as possible by myself there is a limit due to skills and tools needed for some specific jobs. So while i was waiting for guys that lay concrete and a plumber to come in and do their part i did not want to sit idle and was doing simple cleaning and decluttering tasks.

Up to this point I still had an apartment in Vilnius at that point and was coming in on weekends. On my lats trip i took my table, chair and computer with me and started cleaning one small room from old stuff and broken furniture. This is where sledgehammer came in handy again since the furniture was way beyond being salvageable. Also i do not like furniture and clutter and different cupboards and stuff. This is where unneeded stuff accumulates and collects the dust. So it all went away.

Before
20190613_113145.jpg

After
20190613_164517.jpg

First things first. I am working remotely so i had to establish base of operations. That includes setting up working space and internet connection. Luckily i got unlimited plan for my internet data from my mobile provider for 10 EUR a month so i just use hot spot from my phone to connect to the internet. It's pretty handy, just my phone has to sit on a charger more often than usual.

I have decided to turn this small room into my field office.
20190608_155349.jpg

And i am set to go and make my first Hive post from a new location.
20190608_195019.jpg

I must say it feels good. Getting rid of stuff and opening up spaces provides some instant gratification to me. I hate clutter, i do not like small confined spaces even though i do not consider myself claustrophobic. I just do not like mess, nooks and crannies and other unpractical decisions. I was only confirmed later when i redesigned the complete first floor but that is coming up in my new posts. So stay tuned.

Tip: When doing reconstruction, throw all old shit away, if it is still of some use and you have time, post a classified, maybe some family needs something. But generally let it all go and never replace old stuff with new stuff. Just get rid of it and only buy essentials. Stacking up useless shit is neither environment friendly, nor does it look good. If you have space to store things it's inevitable stuff will find it's way into cupboards and will collect dust for years to come.

Have a great day,
David

Sort:  

that wooden floor.... add a nude model... = bliss

yeah, if that was in Vilnius the photoshoot has already had happened. But this is a smaller town and it is really tough to find models, not to speak of nude models at all lol

It is always good to get started by clearing out the crap, it gives a better mental space to make the plans from too - and obviously for you - to continue on working also :)

I am guessing you are going to try and save the wallpaper.

It is always good to get started by clearing out the crap, it gives a better mental space to make the plans from too

Indeed, opens up space for imagination :)

I am guessing you are going to try and save the wallpaper.

This is on the second floor and this year i am doing complete reconstruction on the first one. I'm living alone, so no need for me for both floors. Regarding the wallpapers, they certainly look vintage but are beyond reasonable restoration. I was thinking to make a sound recording studio in that room later on. And i will try to preserve another bigger room on the second floor. It has wooden panels (planks) on the walls and i used to sleep there when visiting grandma, so some sentimental value there. And it also looks quite alright still.