Garage DYI with my Boys - Part 1

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

Some of my most favorite memories of spending time with my dad was in his garage working on a project or rearranging and cleaning up. I know it sounds like a weird thing to have great memories spending time in a dusty, oily smelling garage about but hear me out. It usually on a weekend he would pull out the cars and start blasting The Rolling Stones or The Eagles or pretty much anything that came over the airwaves.  My dad loved his music so he had wired up a stereo with speakers on both sides of our 4 car garage so it would blast the whole neighborhood.

We would work on projects like changing the oil on Mom's car, or replacing an alternator in some heap or just sweeping the floor and cover up oil stains with sawdust. My dad and I would have great conversations while we did these things. 

He would tell me about growing up in California in the 60's 

the pranks he would pull on his sister, and talk about the future.

Because of this I wanted to try to spend the same quality time with my sons in the garage working on a project together. Maybe this way my boys will have the same type of memories of their father that I have of mine.

First Project.

I have been wanting to make another work bench on which I could install a Bench Vice. I had some of the materials I needed from a previous project but I would have to buy some.

Materials on Hand

  • Left over sheet .750 particle board for top of bench
  • Left over sheet .500 plywood to add extra strength to workbench
  • Various screws for fasteners 

Materials Needed

  • Legs for bench 1 - 4x4x8 Douglas fir pine
  • Sides for bench 3 - 2x4x8 Douglas fir pine

While I was taking stock of my materials on hand I found several items I needed to return to Home Depot. Hopefully those returned items will get me credit to use towards the lumber I need. 

I'm off to Home Depot to pick up some lumber.


Continued in Garage DIY with my Boys - Part 2